(Semi) Tuscan Lamb Chop Skillet with sauteed greens

Many people will tell you not to go to the grocery store hungry because you make purchases you shouldn’t. For some reason, my crazy butt went to the grocery store ravenous and when I saw that lamb was on sale, I immediately added a pack of it to my grocery basket. As I was getting the other things that were actually on my list, I started to reflect on this lamb dish my sister-in-law made a few years ago with cannellini beans and tomatoes. She used rib chops, but I didn’t feel like spending that much money for so little return (rib chops are very small cuts of lamb that are very expensive), so I figured I could do basically the same thing with plan old lamb.

When I got home I googled lamb recipes and ended up stumbling upon a “Tuscan Lamb Chop Skillet” recipe that looked pretty tempting.  Mind you, I didn’t follow the recipe to a tee, but it came out excellent. Here’s the link and here’s my finished din din:)

Here’s what I did(modifications to the recipe I provided in the link above):

Tuscan Lamb Chop Skillet (A description of how I cooked the greens is below)
From Diabetic Living

Ingredients

8 lamb rib chops, cut 1 inch thick I used 4 regular lamb chops (I think they were a shoulder cut) it is much cheaper than the rib chop. However, if you have the money to spend, I would get the rib chops as they pack a lot of flavor.
2 teaspoons olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 19-ounce can cannellini beans (white kidney beans), rinsed and drained
1 cup canned Italian-style stewed tomatoes, undrained
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
2 teaspoons snipped fresh rosemary skipped this step
Fresh rosemary sprigs (optional)

Directions

  1. Trim fat from chops.In a large skillet cook chops in hot oil over medium heat for 9 to 11 minutes for medium (160 degrees F), turning once. Transfer chops to a plate; keep warm.   I disregarded the first step and broiled my lamb. I placed it in a pan lined with aluminum foil and then seasoned on both sides with coriander, sea salt, and pepper. Then I placed them under a high broiler, cooking on each side until I didn’t see anymore blood. 
  2. Stir garlic into drippings in skillet. As the lamb chops got closer to being done, I took the pan out of the oven and poured the drippings from the meat into a skillet. Don’t worry if the drippings are a little bloody, you will cook it when you saute the garlic. I placed the skillet with the drippings and garlic on medium heat. Cook and stir for 1 minute.
  3. Stir in beans, undrained tomatoes, vinegar, and snipped rosemary. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, uncovered, for 3 minutes.
  4. Spoon bean mixture onto four dinner plates; arrange two chops on each plate. If desired, garnish with rosemary sprigs.

The greens:

I forgot to buy fresh greens from the store, so I was stuck with a bag of frozen mixed greens (the mix was Kale, mustard and collard) from Whole foods.

Then I cut up a shallot finely and minced two cloves of garlic. I placed 2 tablespoons of canola oil in a large skillet and then cooked my shallot until it was soft. Then I added the garlic and cooked for 1 minute. Then I added the bag of mixed greens to the skillet and about 1/4 cup of water to slightly steam the greens as they were cooking in the skillet. I added a dash of sea salt and a splash of balsamic vinegar to the greens and cooked them until they were hot.

I then served them immediately.

This dish was easily a meal that was done in under 30 minutes. And of course it was delicious!!!!!! I have to make this again soon:)

 

This entry was posted in cooking, dedication, food, italiano, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to (Semi) Tuscan Lamb Chop Skillet with sauteed greens

  1. Looks great, I will be coming to dinner tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

