2012. New running sneakers and ready to run….

As I was sitting in church last night reflecting on the last few moments of 2011, I can’t say that I had all of these wonderful resolutions laid out. No detailed list had been written or even mediated on. However, I did decide to challenge myself beyond my comfort zone.

At the beginning of last year, I could barely run one minute without being out of breath. However, by the end of the year, I had worked myself up to running 1 mile like it was nothing and completing my first 5K without walking. However, towards the end of the year, I started to slack. I stopped running as much and started eating more and more. I was still exercising, but I began to dread running.  However, during my Christmas road trip to PA and VA, I had a lot of time to think.

I realized that running is a mind game. I was telling myself I couldn’t do it, so I started to believe myself. I decided then and there, that I had to push myself and prove to myself that running could be fun if I set goals to challenge myself. This years goal is a 10K. I am not sure when I will run it, but I definitely plan to before the end of 2012.

With that in mind, I headed to Sound runner, a running store in Branford, CT and picked up my new running shoes.

(side note, yes I have big feet…lol. But I am tall so they fit my frame…lol)I really wanted a pair of Asics, but my feet apparently prefer Brooks shoes. There’s nothing like a pair of new running sneakers to get one motivated. Now, if I can only get my song list together, I will be in excellent shape. Maybe some black-eyed peas and Maroon 5? Any suggestions? What are your favorite workout songs?

 

This entry was posted in being present, exercise, happiness, health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012. New running sneakers and ready to run….

  1. 1040TaxLady says:

    Good for you on your renewed motivation to run! You’re right – it’s all mental. We can do ANYTHING we push our bodies to do. You and I are about the same in regards to what we “wanted” for running shoes. I went in thinking I wanted a new pair of Asics; however due to my stride and support I needed, Brooks was the shoe I was fitted for and purchased. Money well spent b/c my runs have been MUCH better since I made that investment in the proper shoe.

Leave a Reply

