Tilapia with White Wine Caper Sauce

One can get really creative with frozen fish. You just have to put on your thinking cap…lol.

I had two pieces of frozen tilapia in my freezer for a few weeks and I figured it was time to eat them. However, by the time they had thawed out in the refrigerator, I still wasn’t sure how I was going to prepare them. But then I remembered I had some leftover dry white wine in the refrigerator and decided to do a web search for dishes with “white wine and tilapia”.

Quickly my search brought me to a “Tilapia with white wine caper sauce” recipe on allrecipes.com. After a quick perusal of the ingredient list, I realized that I had all of the ingredients already in my house, so this was a go. I made some cheesy garlic mashed potatoes and had some fresh mixed greens to go along with it. Here’s my resulting product:

I am not a big fan of eating capers, but they do give dishes a nice, pleasing, strong taste(I am having a hard time trying to figure out how to describe the flavor…but its good!)

If you are looking for a quick dish that will impress, don’t look any further. I had everything prepared and ready to eat in under 30 minutes. This will definitely be added to the cooking rotation!

Here’s the recipe:

Original Recipe Yield 4 servings

 

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 pounds tilapia fillets (I used two frozen tilapia fillets from whole foods–they were only $2.99)
  • Salt and ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 tablespoons butter, divided
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons capers, drained
 

Directions

  1. Place flour in a shallow dish. Season fish with salt and pepper and dredge in flour. Heat oil and 2 tablespoons of butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. When butter starts to turn nutty brown, add fish; fry until golden brown, about 2 to 3 minutes each side. Transfer fish to plates and cover to keep warm.
  2. Add wine to the hot empty skillet and using a spatula, scrape any browned bits from the bottom. Let the wine reduce by half and then stir in the garlic, remaining butter and capers. Let sauce simmer for 1 to 2 minutes to blend the flavors. Pour a portion of sauce over each piece of fish and serve immediately.

Nutritional Information open nutritional information

Amount Per Serving  Calories: 359 | Total Fat: 17.3g | Cholesterol: 94mg

This entry was posted in cooking, fish dish, food, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes, wine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

