Cooking for the Bro—a Lamb dish from Cosmo’s kitchen

My brother loves to just wing it, but I am more of a type A scheduler. I like to know about things months in advance. So when he let me know that he would be coming up Monday-Tuesday instead of Thursday-Friday like he originally told me, I freaked out! It was my plan to stay in Philly until Monday, but I had to head back to get my apartment decent.  In addition, since I was having a houseguest, I had to figure out what to prepare to satisfy both of our appetites. My brother requested lamb, so I started to think of creative ways to make it.

For some reason, greek food popped in my mind, so I brainstormed with the quinoa, and I came up with the dish you see on the plate above. I will call it Herb and Garlic Lamb with tomato and red onion quinoa, with a side of peas. The link to make the Herb and garlic lamb is here. I used lamb shoulders instead of the loin chops because they were on sale and the loin chops where about $10.00 a pound. In addition, I broiled the lamb rather than cooking it on the grill.

The quinoa was my creation, so I have included the recipe below( I’d say this is enough for a side dish for two people)

1/2 cup quinoa

1 cup water

1/4 cup red onion finely chopped

1/2 cup tomato diced

2 tablespoons of pine nuts (slightly roast them in a pan until they are brown before you use them in the dish)

2 tablespoons of quinoa

1/4 teaspoon of sea salt

Make sure you rinse the quinoa before you use it. If you get a box of it, follow the instructions on the box. Add the 1/2 cup of rinsed quinoa to a pan with the 1 cup of water and bring to a boil. After it comes to a boil , bring the temperature down to a simmer and let it cook until all of the water is absorbed. Add the tomato, red onion, salt, and balsamic vinegar and stir. Serve immediately.

***It was my brother’s first foray into the world of quinoa and he was really pleased. In fact he hardly talked while he was eating it, so I am assuming he enjoyed it.

This entry was posted in cooking, family, food, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooking for the Bro—a Lamb dish from Cosmo’s kitchen

  1. Nadya says:

    Shanta, that looks delicious.

    I discovered quinoa not too long ago, and I love it! It’s great with gabanzo and black beans.

Leave a Reply

