Pole Dancing for Jesus over Brunch

Or maybe I should say pole praising? A theological conversation is bound to happen when you have brunch with a bunch of Divinity scholars. The subject of pole praising, where one dances on a pole to gospel or another from of Christian music to worship and honor the Lord, came up. My sorority sister was giving a recap of her talk at the Yale Music symposium which she had given the day before.

But before I get into that conversation, I should share a little about the locale. One of the members of the brunch bunch suggested that we eat at Manjares, which is a little cafe in Westville. I was immediately taken by the artwork hanging on the walls, which we learned were painted by the owner’s husband. The cafe was very warm and open, despite its small size. My only complaint was with our waitress, who didn’t really seem like she wanted to serve us…lol But that is for another story.

I ended up eating the pancakes, while some of the others had these “McGriddle” like sandwiches (egg sandwich with bacon served between two pancakes).

Those pancakes were deelish!!!!!!

As we were enjoying our food, my sorority sister told us about a pole instructor named “Jungle Cat” who posted a YouTube video of himself pole praise dancing to Hezekiah Walker’s “I Need you to survive”.  I was quite shocked for two reasons: 1. Jungle cat is a man and it was weird seeing him dance on the pole. 2. I was raised in a way not to associate pole dancing as a form of worship, rather as a representation of sin. I had a hard time wrapping my mind around using pole dancing as a form of Christian worship.

She told us that she had the opportunity to talk with him and learned a lot. He taught himself how to pole dance and was able to become a Pole fitness instructor. When he posted the video of himself pole praising, he had received so many negative comments (even death threats) that he was going to pull the videos off until his mother showed them to her church and they supported him.

To watch the video, click here.

Although I don’t feel I could ever pole dance as a form of praise, I do feel that everybody has a right to worship in the way that they feel they are led to. As shocking as his pole dancing may be, he is not the first person to ever pole dance for the Lord.  There is a ” Christian Pole Dance” class being taught in Texas, where women pole dance to gospel music.( Click here for the link.) However they are being celebrated for doing so, while this man is being threatened. Is there a double standard? How do you feel about pole dancing as a form of praise? Let me know:)

This entry was posted in being present, faith, happiness, new haven, restaurant reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pole Dancing for Jesus over Brunch

  1. Well Hello! 🙂 I just happen to be googling myself as I do from time to time and I ran across your blog about me. 🙂 I just wanted to say I’m very grateful to you for having an open mind and a willingness to have an open dialogue about this subject. It really warms my heart. I wish I could have had the conversation in person with you gals because those pancakes do look delicious and I love to eat! 😀 Maybe one day 🙂 Bless you for candidness about talking about pole dancing. Perhaps one day you’ll even take a pole class yourself. It’s great exercise and really lot’s of fun! 🙂 Pole dancing is just like any other dance in the world. Not all dance is dirty and sinful, neither is pole dance. Ultimately it’s up to the individual to choose how they wish to express themselves and even then, who are we to judge what’s in their hearts?

    • brandnewphd says:

      Oh thank you! So honored that you took the time to read my blog. And I have tried Pole dancing! It is definitely fun and very upper body strength demanding! So I really commend you! Keep on praising God in the way you feel led!

      • It was my pleasure dear. 🙂 I’m so glad you like it! I really appreciate your kindness and support. I would expect nothing less from a classy lady such as yourself. Gratz on the Phd!! That’s a great accomplishment. 🙂

Leave a comment