“The Stella get your groove back” glowing green smoothie

For my male readers out there, it could also be the “Get your mojo back” glowing green smoothie…lol

It’s mean, its green…and extremely tasty! I am a big fan of smoothies and juicing because they both provide a way for me to increase my vegetable intake. Juicing is great to get vitamins and minerals directly into your system without having to waste the energy to break food down, while smoothies provide those same nutrients plus the added benefit of fiber.

In past blog posts, I have shared various recipes for juices and fruit or veggie smoothies with non dairy based yogurt (coconut milk based yogurt is my fave). Today I will share with you my smoothie of choice for the past few days that has really helped my body bounce back from my weekend Vegas trip: Heather L’s glowing green smoothie. I added in the “Stella get your groove back” to the title because it has definitely given me the energy to get through this week. The recipe makes enough to keep you full until lunch or even longer. Everyday that I have drunk this smoothie, I wasn’t hungry again for at least 3 to 4 hours. I love this smoothie so much that it will stay in the recipe rotation with some variations. I will share her recipe below as well as share some pointers if you plan to drink her smoothie or any other leafy green based smoothie in the future:

You will need:

A handful of organic spinach

1 Peeled and cored Fuji Apple

1  Peeled and cored Asian Pear

1 Banana

1/2 avocado

3 celery stalks

1 1/2 cups of filtered water

The juice from a lemon

All of these ingredients should be cut up finely as possible and then added to the blender and blended until you get a smooth consistency.
Before you enjoy, keep in mind some of my recommendations to her recipe:

1. Unless you have a lot of time in the morning and are not rushing off to work or school, it would be advisable to cut up all of the fruit and veggies needed for this smoothie the night before and stick it in a sealed container in the refrigerator. It will take at least 15 minutes or so to prepare everything for the blender.

Here’s my stuff prepared to be blended for tomorrow:

The first day I tried to make the smoothie, I was almost late to work because I didn’t realize how long it would take me to prepare the fruit and veggies.

2. Make sure you rotate your dark leafy greens. If you find that you really enjoy this smoothie and you want to drink it everyday, it is important to switch the spinach out and put it on a rotation with other dark leafy greens like Kale, collard greens, Bok choy, etc. There are two reasons why this is important: 1. It will make sure your body is receiving a wide range of minerals and vitamins and 2. More importantly, it will prevent the build up of toxins in your system that can happen from eating the same green day in and out. All green leaves contain a small level of toxins to keep predators away. For example, spinach contains oxalic acid, which is fine in small doses, but in large doses can cause issues.

3. Asian Pears are wonderful, but can be pricier than other pears. Asian pears are wonderful additions to this smoothie because of their high water content, however they are expensive. For example, in whole foods, you can buy organic Bartlett pears for $2.46 per pound, while Asian pears are $1.69 each. If you can’t find Asian pears or can’t find any in your price point, other pears will work as long as they are organic.

4. Before you cut the lemon make sure to roll it against a hard surface with your palm. it will cause the cell walls of the lemon to break down and you will get more juice from it. Lemon juice is in the smoothie recipe because it does a great job of cutting the vegetable taste from drinks. I highly recommend this if you are adverse to the “green taste” of raw veggies.

5. Lastly, Heather’s recipe makes a smoothie that will not fit in one cup. Each time that I have made the smoothie, it has given me close to a quart and I have had to drink it out of this:

It makes for an interesting conversation at work…lol

With all that said, if you are looking for a nice vegan, filling, and energizing smoothie this is your friend. The lemon does a great job of cutting the green taste and all you will taste is the fruit.

VERY YUMMY! Try it, you just might like it:)

This entry was posted in recipes, smoothies, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “The Stella get your groove back” glowing green smoothie

  1. Pingback: “Springing forward” to Vegan Carrot Spice Muffins | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

  2. Pingback: “Oh my! Tastes like Sweet Potato Pie!” Oatmeal | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

  3. Pingback: “Oh my! Tastes like Sweet Potato Pie!” Oatmeal | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

  4. Kristin says:

    Looking forward to trying this!

  5. brandnewphd says:

    Great! Let me know if you like it!

  6. Pingback: Oh baby, I like it raw…and vegan: Spring reboot kickoff | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

