Before there was “The Secret” there was Florence Scovel Shinn

I’m sure everyone was aware of the hype surrounding a book called “The Secret” by Rhonda Byrne.  The basic principle of this book is the law of attraction. Meaning that you attract things to you by your thoughts, visions, and words. For example, a person who is positive should have positive things happen to them because they see positivity.  However, before Rhonda Byrne, there was Florence Scovel Shinn.  Ms. Shinn was born in 1871 and was an avid proponent of the law of attraction. One of my sistah friends, K has read from this book on countless occasions and last month, I felt that I should buy it. 

I am still reading it, but this book has already had an impact on my life. Ms. Shinn relates everything back to God and the thought that we all have divinity that dwells within us. Any Christian (such as myself) knows that when Jesus died on the cross that his spirit came to reside in all believers. Also that this power would help us if we took the time to build the relationship with it (Christ).  As it states in the Bible, power and death reside in the tongue. Meaning that we have the ability to cause harm or good by what we say. However, a lot of us do not realize that small things count as well. Worrying and thinking negatively all serve to bring more of what we don’t want in our lives.  I am very guilty of this myself and have started to reprogram my mind.  I am not allowing myself to hold on to negative thoughts anymore. I am taking the time to replace negative thoughts with positive thoughts. I am speaking positive in my life and visualizing this through the use of a vision board.

Love

I had dinner with a very good friend last night and I really learned a lot from her. She may not realize this, but she is such a strong woman. I am so proud to have her as a friend. We talked about love last night and how it can be scary to let someone in. What if you hurt them? What if they hurt you? I think that we as Christians must believe that God will protect us and keep us strong no matter what. But we are doing ourselves a greater disservice by not letting people in.

I definitely keep up a wall and it is not just in love relationships. My father passed away when I was 9 years old very unexpectedly and and through other traumatic childhood events, I have realized that I have a fear that if I let someone fully in that they will leave me (through death, or end the friendship/relationship). This is not something I was able to realize overnight. In fact, it took me until I was 29 to truly realize this and admit that I have abandonment issues. But needless to say, I do not want to be like this. I want to be able to let people in fully because it is such a blessing what you gain from doing this. Allowing yourself to love fully helps you become a better person. You also learn so much more about that friend, family member, or significant other.  And if the worst case scenario happens and they leave you, hurt you, etc. You don’t die from it, so why be afraid? Heart break does go away over time. As you love, you become more like Christ and as a Christian that is who I want to be like.

This entry was posted in being present, happiness, love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Before there was “The Secret” there was Florence Scovel Shinn

  1. J says:

    Wow! What a very powerful post! You introduced me to the Vision Board, and once you helped me with mine, I focused on it everyday, in the morning and at night and all of the stuff on my board came true for the most part. Of course, I also prayed A LOT during that time in my life, so I am VERY sure that the positive thinking that you inspired in me and the grace and blessings of God have brought me to this point in my life. You don’t realize how strong a person you are as well. I am very proud and happy to have you as a friend in my life!

Leave a Reply

