2016: The year of becoming who God has called me to be

Gosh, I can’t believe it is that time of year again to sing “Auld Lang Syne”, write down New Year’s resolutions (that we may or may not keep), and potentially go to watch night service (or another church service if you are religiously inclined).

Honestly, this year was such a blessing. God truly answered many of the prayers that I prayed in 2014. I have met wonderful new friends, had wonderful new experiences, and even had my unapologetically singleness challenged by a wonderful man. Yes, it is amazing the things that happens when you step out of God’s way and enjoy the season that He places you in.

As I reflect on this year and begin to cast my eyes on 2016, I decided that I really need to keep it simple with my goals for the new year. So my plans are:

  1. To get really serious and focused about my prayer life.
  2. To be healthy: mind, body and spirit
  3. To be completely vulnerable. To allow certain people to completely see all of me. The good, bad and ugly.

Focused prayer life

If you haven’t had the chance to watch “War Room”, I highly recommend doing so immediately. For me, that movie was a wake up call to show me that I really need to go to God first for all things and to trust that he will work it out on my behalf. I want to open my eyes to see the tiny things that God does for me everyday, not just the amazing things. I want to reach a higher level of spiritual growth and continue to become the woman that God has called me to be.

Wholistically Healthy

As I will be entering my 36th year on this planet in 2016, I really need to step up my wellness game. I have to learn to fight the urge to turn to junk food when I am upset. I have to learn to be better at resting when my body needs rest, and working on stress reducing techniques. My body showed me this year that I need to treat it better. So in 2016, I am focusing on a better diet, relaxation techniques, and staying in touch with God.

Vulnerability

Gasp. Showing a person all that you are. Honestly, that has been difficult for me over the years. Anyone who has been hurt knows that the natural reaction is to protect themselves. You can even doubt that you are worthy of love. You can do things like sabotage relationships, become cold and aloof, or be mean to guard your heart.  I am sure that not being vulnerable has prevented me from having the love that I have always wanted. Oh, I have wonderful family and friendship love. I have even loved a man or two in my day. But I have honestly never given any man my whole heart.

I would be lying if I didn’t admit that I wanted to experience the deep love that can exist between a man and a woman. The kind of love where both parties are all in and love each other in spite of each others mistakes or imperfections.  But, to experience that, I have to be willing to be completely open, to be vulnerable. to trust that, no matter if I fall and get hurt, God has me. But it also takes a special man to deserve that level of me. There is a special man and I do believe he deserves that from me…

So I am looking forward to 2016 and all that it brings. Whether it is good or bad, I chose to trust God and His plan for me life. I know without a doubt that it is infinitely better then anything that I could imagine for myself.

Goodbye 2015. 2016, I am ready to embrace all that you will be to me.

 

 

This entry was posted in fashion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2016: The year of becoming who God has called me to be

  1. Jade says:

    Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Trusting God | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

