Thanks and giving

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Thanksgiving kicks off a period of serious introspection for me, where I take stock of what I have experienced and learned this year. I also start to turn my gaze towards the next year and all of the promises that it brings.

THANKS….

I woke up this morning feeling truly happy and thankful for all that God has done for me. This has been my year of being unapologetically single, which has brought so many interesting twists and turns that I completely didn’t expect. I must say God has a sense of humor. If you would have asked me at the beginning of the year whether or not I would be boarding a plane to go to Senegal in November, I would have laughed. But, I have gone and have come back so grateful for the opportunity. God truly can do exceedingly and abundantly more than we can ask or dream of. 

However,  I can be a bad daughter at times and not put God first like I should. I let work and other distractions keep me from being in a place of worship. Yet, I have learned that my experiences and time with God doesn’t need to be just limited to kneeling at my bed in prayer. It is in the everyday moments of life that I need to make sure I am cognizant of keeping God at the forefront. I need to make sure I am talking to Him throughout the day and taking the time to be still and observe His responses back to me.

Oftentimes, God doesn’t  speak to us as we think. I think for the longest time, I thought God would speak directly to me. But most of the time God speaks to me through other people, songs, or even animals. Some time this summer, I had read a devotional where this woman had said that God sent her red birds to let her know that He hadn’t forgotten about her and that he was taking care of her issues. I kid you not, I saw a red bird later that day and would see one for the next several weeks at the most random times. One time, a red bird flew past my car during my commute home on the George Washington Parkway..lol

GIVING…

God has also reminded me over the course of this year the importance of giving. It is in giving that we are truly rewarded and see God’s goodness. We also allow others to see God’s goodness through us.  I am glad that God has been able to use me this year to help others and I am hopeful and prayerful that God will use me increasingly to bless others during the remainder of this year and in 2016.

As I sit here sipping on my tea and writing this blog, I am truly amazed at how God has guided me and led me to this point. He truly been so good to this undeserving soul. I truly believe that is the true meaning of Grace. So, I will close this blog with this simple prayer:

“God please continue to use me. Not my will, but thine. Light my path and bring/keep the right people in my life, while removing those that would hinder your purpose for my life. Help me to fully embrace all that I am and to embrace others where they are. For all of the ways that you have protected me, I give thanks. For the times you said no, I give thanks. In all seasons, I am thankful. Please God continue to allow me to reflect your light. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen!”

 

This entry was posted in being present, faith, family, giving thanks, happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanks and giving

  1. Jade says:

    Amen! What an amazing post and prayer!

Leave a Reply

