Open letter to my mother

Dear Mom

I am sure raising two children as a single parent wasn’t easy. Through the years, I watched you work extra hard to provide food, clothing, and other essentials that my sister and I needed. Many times, I wasn’t Featured imageappreciative. I was jealous of some of  my peers and how life appeared so easy to them. Their parents gave them cars, allowances, and paid for their college. I was so sad that I couldn’t have what they had. Now, I realize how hard that must have been for you to hear my disappointments. A mother’s desire is to provide every thing for their children and here I was begging for things that were beyond your reach. But while you didn’t give me and my sister all of our “wants”, you supported us emotionally. Looking back now, I can honestly say that I am thankful that you didn’t give me everything I wanted.

You taught me to be strong and how to take care of myself. You pushed me to pursue my education and try things that I was scared to do. You listened to every heartbreak that I have had over the years and have provided your unfailing love and support. I am thankful you have given me unconditional love. You have taught me what it means to be beautifully flawed and to above all, honor God and myself.

I know I haven’t always been an easy child. But as I grow older, I get a better understanding of why you were so hard on me while I was growing up.  I see you now as a woman shaped by her own past. And because of this, I honor you today. If it wasn’t for you and your prayers to God on my behalf, I wouldn’t be the woman I am today. I am blessed to call you mom.

I love you!

xoxo

your daughter

This entry was posted in fashion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

