Learning that you matter: being content in all seasons

I don’t know if you are like me, but there are times when I often struggle with discontentment. I have to be vigilant about “staying in the moment” and thanking God about each season that I find myself in. This morning God sent me a message through Joel Osteen and I wanted to share it with you. Joel preached about being content in all seasons and how like Paul, you have to learn this. Contentment isn’t something that necessarily comes easy to everyone. It is easy to be content when things are going our way, but definitely so much harder when things aren’t or when we are waiting in expectation for things to come to pass. During his sermon, Joel summarized the story of Eddie, a character from Mitch Albom’s, “The Five People you Meet in Heaven”. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it.

While Eddie was alive, he felt like his life didn’t matter. He was discontent and compared his life to others. After he died, he meets five people in heaven that showed him how much he meant to them and why he was important. Why his life was important. Though he viewed his life as insignificant, he had such a big impact on numerous people, he just couldn’t see it.

Can I be really honest with you? I know I look like I have it together most of the time (although I am sure my family and close friends would say differently…lol) but I wrestle with being content in all seasons. I sometimes struggle with understanding the purpose of my life and how does my life matter in the grand scheme of things. I struggle with living in the moment and not jumping to the past or the future. Being content is WORK! I pray, I write in my gratitude journal and now use a gratitude app on my IPhone.  I have learned that even though I don’t feel like it on some days, that my life matters and I am indeed making a difference in people’s lives.  I am learning to live and savor the moment in this season that I find myself in. I definitely have things that I am waiting on to come to fruition, but I am attempting to face each day with child-like awe.

IMG_1304

Like Paul said in Philippians 3:12-14: ” Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,  I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

This entry was posted in fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

