What happens when your luggage makes it to Vegas and you don’t?

ive-never-been-to-vegas-cover-3d

Mandy Hale sure does know. She describes this along with many other tales of her life thus far in her latest book, “I’ve Never Been to Vegas, but my luggage has.” I couldn’t tell you how I first came across Mandy–maybe it was through her blog, “The Single Woman” or one of her quotes, or a tweet? Whatever it was, I was hooked. Mandy has made it her life’s work to make sure that single women all over the world know that there is nothing wrong with being single. That we singletons need to enjoy this space and become the women who God has called us to be. And knowing that, yes we may want/desire to be in relationships, they do not complete us. We are complete all on our own. I really identified with Mandy: we are the same age, both are Christians and both are learning to fully embrace our singleness.

So when Mandy came out with her first book, “The Single Woman: Life, Love, and a Dash of Sass, ” I ordered it immediately. That book had the right balance of faith, love, and empowerment. One of my favorite quotes in that book was, ” It takes a heartbreak to shake us awake and help us see we are worth so much more than we’re settling for.” That quote really hit home for me because although the breakups I have experienced have been hard, they have been so wonderful for my growth and drawing me closer to who God has called me to be.

So when I learned she was releasing a new book called ” I’ve never been to Vegas, but my luggage has” and was looking for a “single woman” crew to help promote it, I jumped at the opportunity. I received an advanced copy and now have the privilege of sharing my review here with you.

I don’t even know where to start. There was so much “meat” in that book. From page one, Mandy takes you through some key relationships and experiences that have shaped her into the strong God fearing  single woman she is today. The pain and heartbreak she experienced prepared her for the blessings that God had in store for her. I think one of my favorite passages in her book is this:

“When we overthink, we stop acting boldly and hide behind our endless streams of questions, objections, and insecurities. We drive away people and opportunities that are meant to be in our lives by overwhelming them with our expectations, stipulations, and worries. We shut off our hearts and allow our minds to work overtime, essentially turning ourselves into hamsters in wheels–endlessly grinding but going nowhere. You just can’t think your way into your destiny. More often than not, you have to feel your way there.”

When I read that passage in the book, I was like “Woah!” I am definitely an overthinker. I try to analyze everything from career to relationships in fine detail, weighing pros and cons. Trying to understand the worst or best thing that could happen. But at the same time I find myself not living my life in the moment. Not pausing to just smell the roses and to enjoy what is directly in front of me. It is so easy to get caught up in the future or the past and not be fully present in the now. Reading her book made me resolve to do better and to just stop and thank God for what I am experiencing now.

So I will have to highly recommend Mandy’s book. I am not just saying this because I am a part of her promotional crew. If you are curious about her, I would check out her blog, the Single Woman (click here). Mandy has a powerful message and I have no qualms about supporting it.

xoxo,

Cosmo

This entry was posted in being present, book reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What happens when your luggage makes it to Vegas and you don’t?

  1. Gede Prama says:

    Very interested, Have a wonderful day friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

