Green Smoothie Challenge: Week 1

Today marks the end of the first week of the 30 day smoothie challenge I am participating in and I feel great. I have been learning new recipes and incorporating dark leafy greens into my diet every day. I must say that my body sure does appreciate it. I feel like I have a lot more energy in the mornings.

I started the challenge this past Monday prior to Jan  1st because I was excited.  I am participating in this smoothie challenge courtesy of a website called “simple green smoothies” that was started by Jadah and Jen, two women with a desire to get people to increase their veggie intake.

As I stated in my last post, once you sign up for the challenge, Jadah and Jen will send you recipes each week as well as a grocery list to help with your smoothie planning.

This past week, I have had smoothies I have never tried before. I never thought about putting an orange or a pear in a smoothie, but it definitely tastes good!

I also had to acquire a new blender as my blender decided to die on the second official day of the challenge. So I splurged and bought a Blendtec. And I am so in love with it!!!!  As soon as I got it, I made one of Jadah and Jen’s yummy recipes, almond joy:

Almond Joy

Serves 2
2 cups fresh kale
2 cups almond milk
1 banana
2 pears, ripe
2 tablespoons coconut flakes
2 tablespoons cacao powder

photoCA5XAQH9

If you are interested in learning more about the smoothie challenge and getting smoothie recipes for free, click here!

Consider joining. Your body will thank you!

This entry was posted in being present and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

