2013: Cosmo’s year in Review

I really can’t believe it is the end of another year. Prior to writing this post, I went and looked back on my posts from previous years. In December 2010, I talked about reducing my sugar and processed foods intake. In December 2011, I discussed my running a 5K for the first time without stopping and hopes of completing my first 10K in 2012. Last year, I was excited about completing the 10K and running my first 1/2 marathon. I also was in my second stint of graduate school completing a MPH at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Its amazing how far I have come in terms of taking better care of my body, mind, and soul.

But as you know, there is always room for improvement.

Looking back over this year, I realized that through my highs and lows, I still have so much more to accomplish and learn. But I am so thankful for all that 2013 brought.

I have seen relationships start and end; people who needed to leave my life have left and cleared the way for those who are meant to be there.  My time of job uncertainty brought me closer to God and showed me without a doubt that I must rely on him and not other humans. I finished my MPH and started on my journey of finding my life’s work. I started off the year as a vegan and remained a vegetarian for a good part of the year. I realized that my body works better when I eat less meat.

I took my first solo vacation and found myself in New Orleans having beignets and charbroiled oysters. And sadly, my cat Bella who I had for 9 years had to be put down.

Overall, I am just thankful for all of the happiness and sadness that came my way this year. It has strengthened me and helped me to become a better person. Not that I am claiming to be perfect, but at 33 years of age, it is starting to sink in that the best is truly yet to come. But while I am in progress, I need to embrace every moment. I was thrown outside of my comfort zone this year and it propelled me to places I could only dream of.

I am excited about 2014! I look forward to getting healthier, traveling, and making strides in my career. I am planning to push myself like never before and to truly live my life like the immortal words of Jill Scott, ” Like its golden!!!!”    Happy New Year all! OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

xoxo,

Cosmo

This entry was posted in being present, giving thanks, happiness, journey, love, travels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

