Start 2014 off with a 30 day smoothie challenge!

photo (1)

(My Kale smoothie with mixed berries and chia seeds)

It’s that time of year! Time to make resolutions to be better, eat healthier, etc. Mine is always to be better: eat healthier, be stronger, etc. At the beginning of this year, I started off with a vegan challenge and committed to being vegan for a month.  After that, I was vegetarian for the next two months. I maintained my overall healthy eating throughout this year, but when I was in the midst of the unemployment struggle, I quickly regressed into my comfort: junk food. I still ate healthy, but I started eating way too many sweets. So I find myself at the end of 2013, wanting to reaffirm my commitment to eating healthy and getting my body in the best shape its ever been.

Enter the 30 day smoothie challenge! I wanted to start 2014 off with something different. For the past few years, I have been doing radical diet changes: in 2012, I was a vegetarian and gave up sweets through lent and I this year I was vegan. I wanted to do something that could be maintained on a pretty consistent basis after the challenge was over and could be easily executed without too much work on my part. Being vegan was slightly hard– especially when dining out with friends. Restaurants are pretty vegetarian friendly at this point, but they are not really vegan friendly. I commend all of you vegans out there– I definitely am striving to get to that point.

Anyway, I am digressing. I have been on a smoothie kick for the past week and thought it would be cool to try new recipes everyday and to really incorporate more greens into my life. As of lately, I have been really bad with my veggie intake and thought doing smoothies would be a better way of injecting my system with them first thing in the morning.

While I was perusing for smoothie recipes on the web, I discovered a 30 day green smoothie challenge that encourages people to eat more greens and still allows you to eat meals. Click here to find out more information.

I signed up and was sent a personalized introduction as well as some suggestions to prepare for the challenge. I am planning to use the green smoothie as a meal replacer for one meal a day, so I had to get some protein to add to the smoothie to keep me filled. I ended up ordering some hemp protein powder, which is plant-based. In addition, I ordered some paper straws and some stainless steel straws to sip my smoothies with. Overall, I am very excited about starting this challenge. I am looking forward to trying new recipes and increasing my green veggie intake.

photo

Check out the link I provided above and let me know if you are interested in joining! It would be great to have some company:)

I will be posting the smoothies I drank along with the recipes weekly once the challenge starts. Maybe some of them will look yummy to you and inspire you to try them.

This entry was posted in being present, empowerment, food, health, smoothies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

