My Friends

Friends. Some are there for a reason, some are season, and others are there for a lifetime. I am sure many of you can relate. The friends that God has brought into my life have been there when I truly needed them and have helped me grow in so many ways. I wanted to use this post to honor some of them for being so important in different phases of my life.

When I was in elementary and middle school, I was blessed to be close friends with Alex and Sadie. I have memories of singing Mary J. Blige’s real love before going to parties and sitting in the cafeteria w talking about our boyfriends/crushes. They were my earliest sisters and will always be dear to me.

In high school, one person I had wonderful talks with was Fatimah. I remember talking about my hopes and dreams. Her mother also was so kind enough to make my prom dress my senior year:)

Freshman year of college brought Anissa and Arisza. They were the ones who took a tomboy and turned her into a lady.They also made me feel comfortable being away from home and showed me how to have fun:)

I also became apart of the fab five, which included Sherita, Jefferson, Tisha, and RoShauna. We were the minority access to research careers cohort of 2000-2002. We studied together, cried/laughed together, and worked together to pursue our science dreams.

I was also blessed with sorority sisters who became friends and are now more so like blood sisters. These ladies I will love for life.

During my PhD, I had an assortment of friends. From the black scientists that where always there to help out when I needed a reagent or technical assistance to the office of diversity fellows, I met and learned from a wide range of people who have touched my life in ways I couldn’t even imagine. Some have become even more dear to me as the years have gone on. My one solid rock throughout my whole PhD process was my fellow labmate Eszter. Hands down, she is one of my best friends and is one of few people who knows ALL sides of me. She has wiped away the tears of heartbreak and she has been there in my times of happiness.

After graduating and finishing up a postdoctoral fellowship, I entered the workforce. I remember worrying about how I would find friends as a “working adult”. I remember praying to God to send me a friend that I could talk to and hang out with. And God sent me Nicole. She has been such a blessing in my life and was there for me when I was going through a lot of transition.

My sister circle became increasingly more important through this transitional space too. They were there for me during my PhD, but were even more so when I became a working professional. Doris, Katurah, Michelle, and Veronica, I am so thankful for your wisdom. So thankful that you aren’t afraid to call me on my stuff when I need to be. So thankful that you saved me from dropping out of the PhD when I was just so overwhelmed. So thankful that you loved me like a sister/daughter. You are my second mother/sisters. God has truly blessed me with you.

When I went back to school for my MPH, I honestly wasn’t expecting to be blessed with more friends. God had already blessed me with so many in different phases of my life. But God gave me Bhatki, Susan, and Lara. They are my sex and the city girls. We sat in classes together, broke bread together, and just bonded. I am so thankful for all of you and know that we will be friends for life.  I am also thankful for Lady J. She is another classmate that has become like a sister. We share the same personality, so she is never afraid to call me out when I need to be. She is also what I define as a true christian and has pulled me closer to God. For that, I will be ever thankful.

Whether they are a reason, season or lifetime, I am thankful for all of the friends that God has brought into my life. I know this post doesn’t talk about them all, but I did want to acknowledge the ones who were on my heart at the moment. I am just thankful that the right people have been there when I needed them the most.

This entry was posted in being present and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

