These are the times we all wish for…

…”The moments when less mean so much more.”–Dru Hill

With the events that have gone on in my life, the lives of close friends, and in the world in general, it is more and more apparent how short and precious our time on Earth is.  As I am in a transitional space in my life, I have been doing a lot of introspection lately on the things that truly matter in my life and what will matter moving forward. And I have fully come to terms with the fact that it is not my career, but my relationships with people whether they are love, familial, or friend that are the most important. For this reason, my loved ones are that much more dear to me.

This weekend, I unexpectedly found myself at a conference at my former graduate school and luckily I was able to catch up with one of the most dearest people to me. It was so awesome to see her as a mom–she was pregnant when I left the area, but now has a beautiful little girl.

921642_10100225381769924_1092836905_o

Having a chance to hold her daughter and then watch them interact made me think a little bit about what I could be like as a mother. Would I have the same patience and loving demeanor that I saw her exhibit? I always knew what a sweet and loving person she was. She and I became friends during our time as provisional members of the Junior League. But sitting there in her presence made me think about how thankful I am to know her. The countless times she has cheered me on when I have doubted myself. The encouraging words when I was sad, and just the overall fun we would have when we were able to hang out.

But it also made me think about how many times I look at a person, but maybe don’t truly allow myself to be fully present. Too many times, I find myself worrying about the job situation or some other stressful thing that may be going on. But on Saturday, I was “present” with her and I was so blessed. Taking those times to be there in that moment literally can fill you up with so much love and appreciation.

I found myself teary eyed just thinking about her and the other important people in my life. What a blessing it is to to sit and take in a person without any distractions. To focus your sole attention on them. I know I must do better because my loved ones deserve better. And I deserve to experience the full richness of love that they bring to my life.

As I wrap up this blog post, I want to challenge you to be “present” in your loved ones life–no distractions, no worries, just them. You will be blessed, I promise you. If not, you will at least come away with a greater sense of the people that you have in your life and that is a priceless thing that no money can buy.

This entry was posted in being present, happiness, journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to These are the times we all wish for…

  1. Iris Hall says:

    I practice this very thing cousin. I guess my theater and acting background helped make this a practice… living in the ‘MOMENT TO MOMENT REALITY” thus your responses are organic,real and focused…thats why I have a hard time when people say I am so busy….I strive not to be busy…and I find That too helps me live in the moment and be present for those sharing space with me in that moment…peace,light and much love

Leave a Reply

