Gettin’ “Vegan” Wit it

If you are old enough you remember the classic “Gettin’ jiggy with it” by Will Smith. Not the coolest song out there but you do have to admit it does have a catchy beat.  I had this song in my head some reason, except thinking “Vegan” in place of “Jiggy”. I am the queen of the random song…lol

Anyway, I am getting way off subject. I am almost a full week into my vegan for a month challenge and I find myself trying to find creative and satisfying ways to eat sans animal products. This weekend, I found myself craving my turkey and bean chili. However, since I can’t eat turkey until February, I needed to find a substitute.   I was in Whole foods when I came across a meat substitute that looked strangely like ground beef/turkey called “Lightlife”. I was determined to find out if it would have a similar taste as well.

photo(1)I  just used half of the pack of this product and followed my recipe to a tee. The recipe is below and you can view the original  recipe with turkey  here.

Surprisingly, it came out exactly the same. The “fake meat” had the same consistency as ground turkey. It even looked similar:

photo(2)

I served it over some brown rice and then squirted some lime juice and put some cilantro on top. Yum!!!!! So far, the absence of animal product hasn’t been too bad. But let me see how I feel in two more weeks… #team vegan!

“I can’t believe there’s no Turkey” Chili

Total: 20 minutes
Yield: 6 servings (serving size: about 1 cup chili and 1 lime wedge)

Ingredients

  • 1  cup  chopped red onion
  • 1/3  cup  chopped seeded poblano pepper (about 1) (I would use whatever hot pepper spikes your fancy)
  • 1  teaspoon  bottled minced garlic (I just finely chopped three cloves of garlic)
  • 1/2 packet of the Lightlife smart ground
  • 1  tablespoon  chili powder
  • 2  tablespoons  tomato paste
  • 2  teaspoons  dried oregano
  • 1  teaspoon  ground cumin
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  black pepper
  • 1  (19-ounce) can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1  (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained (I used organic)
  • 1  (14-ounce) can fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth (I used organic)
  • 1/2  cup  chopped fresh cilantro
  • 6  lime wedges

Preparation

1. Heat a large saucepan over medium heat. Add first 4 ingredients; cook for 6 minutes, constantly stirring. Stir in chili powder and next 8 ingredients (through broth); bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes. Stir in cilantro. Serve with lime wedges

This entry was posted in cooking, food, health, recipes, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

