Giving Thanks and Cake

Older brothers. Don’t we all love them?

Whenever I sneak away to see my brother he requests a baked good. Usually it is in the form of a cake, sometimes I try to branch out and do bread or cookies. When I think of recipes, I try to keep my nephew in mind as he can’t have dairy. So my brother usually gets a vegan baked good, which he is usually appreciative of. So this visit was no exception. I have been on a pumpkin kick for the last month and a half because of Starbucks’ Pumpkin spice latte …yum, so I decided to make a Pumpkin spice cake. Vegan style.

It was my luck to stumble upon a vegan version of Martha Stewart’s recipe on this lovely blog called “It ain’t meat, babe.“This is the perfect cake for someone who doesn’t like really sweet sweets. I ended up making my favorite vegan buttermilk frosting to cover the cake instead of using the maple syrup glaze proposed by the blogger. For the recipe for the frosting, click here.

Thanksgiving was a wonderful time for me this year. I really got all mushy and sentimental about the importance of family. I am so thankful for my brother David, his wife Laine, and my little nephew.  I love spending time with them. Unfortunately, I haven’t lived in the same city as any of my family since high school. So I do get quite sad from time to time that I don’t have family that I can hang out with or get hugs from when I am feeling blue. I mostly have to settle for conversations and occasional trips home.

I really needed this thanksgiving break as Johns Hopkins is no joke. I am getting my butt handed to me on a regular. Right before Thanksgiving I had a Biostats mid term, so family time was truly appreciated. There is nothing like a hug from a family member. Especially a big brother. And so to show my thanks for my brother opening his house to me I made the cake.
What were you thankful for this Thanksgiving?

Pumpkin Spice Bundt Cake

For Cake

4 cups all purpose flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon ground ginger
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1 cup vegan margarine (softened)
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup unrefined white sugar
4 tbsp flax meal
1/2 cup lukewarm water
1 cup soy milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups canned pumpkin puree

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease and flour one bundt cake pan.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.

In a separate bowl, beat butter and sugar together until fluffy.

Mix flax meal and water, let sit for one minute, then add to butter mixture, slowly while stirring well.

Add vanilla extract to soymilk and let sit for one minute.

Alternately add flour mixture and soymilk to butter mixture, stirring well. Add pumpkin last and stir to combine.

Pour batter into prepared cake pan and bake for about an hour or until a chopstick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

When cake has cooled for half an hour, turn it out of the pan and leave it to completely cool

This entry was posted in cooking, food, giving thanks, let them eat cake, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes, vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

