Their Eyes were watching….those collard greens

I know. It is almost blasphemy to mess around with Zora Neale Hurston’s  classic book “Their Eyes were watching God”. But I just had to.

On a recent trip to Washington D.C., I had the opportunity to experience Eatonville. This restaurant opened in 2009 and has served as an homage to the late great Ms. Hurston.  The place is a visual delight-drawings inspired by “Their Eyes were watching God” are found throughout the restaurant while chandeliers and old-fashioned fans grace the ceiling.

My favorite piece in the whole restaurant was this abstract painting of Zora:

The quote at the bottom of the picture (from Ms. Hurston herself) says:

“Sometimes I feel discriminated against, but it does not make me angry. It merely astonishes me. How can any deny themselves the pleasure of my company? It’s beyond me.”

How classic is that?

The crowd is eclectic–young professionals mixed in with older generations of all hues. The wait staff do a wonderful job of taking care of you. This isn’t a place you want to try to go to without a reservation-and definitely make sure you are on time.

Now for the food. It took me a while to figure out what I wanted, but I ended up getting the catfish, grits and collard greens. We also got an order of fried green tomatoes to start.

They were cooked to perfection!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But little did I know what I was in store for. Collard greens that made me want to get up and dance. Now mind you, the catfish and grits were extraordinary–the grits had some cheese and jalapeno in them. But the star were those collard greens. They were slightly sweet-maybe a hint of apple cider vinegar? Cooked-but not too much-nice balance of melt in your mouth without being too mushy, if you get my drift.

Now imagine a glass of wine in your hand. Slowly savoring the food while taking it all in. If you find yourself near U st in D.C., you have to go, better yet run to this restaurant.  Shoot, I think I may need to pull out a copy of Their Eyes were watching God and read it again.

But that will have to wait until after this MPH….:(

This entry was posted in food, restaurant reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

