After 31 years, take me out to the ballgame

“Take me out to the ball game, take me out to the crowd. Buy me some peanuts and cracker jack. I don’t care if I never get back. Let me root, root root for the home team. If they don’t win it’s a shame, for its one, two ,three strikes you’re out at the old ball game…”

Classic old baseball song that I used to sing as a child, but never truly experienced until now. As an American, I am ashamed to say I didn’t experience my first baseball game until this past weekend. I would like to say that it has been my choice of jobs, schools, etc that had prevented me from seeing a major league baseball game–Richmond, New Haven, and Raleigh definitely don’t have their own teams. Well, at least in the major league.

One of the things I was told I must experience during my time in Baltimore was an Orioles game. So when a classmate from my PhD years invited me, I jumped on it. I was truly impressed with myself–I definitely felt guilty because I felt I should be doing school work and studying, but something told me not to pass up on this opportunity.

First of all, I was totally struck by how many people love baseball. It was truly amazing to see that many people sporting their orange Orioles shirts and filing into Camden Yard.

Even though we were high up, I truly felt like I was right there on the field. I think the designers of Camden Yard did a great job. There were several non seating places where you could get a great view of the game.

Baseball is definitely a long game, but it is downright fun with the right company. I hadn’t seen my classmate Ian since we finished our PhDs, so it was really nice to catch up with him and meet some of his college friends.

Food is definitely another big factor. I am usually not a fan of hot dogs that contain unclassified meat–if I do eat a hot dog, it will be a kosher beef one. But I think a baseball game screams for a juicy big hot dog.

That hot dog was soooooo good!!!!!!!!! Definitely the highlight of the evening. After about 6 innings, we got up from our seats and walked around the yard and finally ended up in a bar. Ironically, we ended up watching the end of the game on TV inside of the game…lol Quite funny. I think the air conditioning fostered the commitment to say inside for the final stretch. Overall, it was a fantastic day surrounded by fantastic people. Even though it took me 31 years to get to a game, I am glad I finally did. It was a great experience that I hope will happen again sometime soon.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in being present, friends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to After 31 years, take me out to the ballgame

  1. Pierotucci says:

    When I went back to the states with my DH, I considered it a must for him to see a baseball game. It’s just so much part of the American culture – even if you never went to one, there are many icons that come from the game (the song, the hot dogs, and all the gimics and games we play during the game!)

    Please visit our site: http://www.pierotucci.com or our blog http://pierotucci.wordpress.com

  2. I love Camden Yards it is a great experience, I am glad you had a blast.

  3. So are you addicted to ballgames now?! Glad you had a blast, Camden is a great…it sparked the retro ballpark craze, so you go to see the original!

Leave a Reply

