Sunday Suppers: Tilapia with sweet potato quinoa and sauteed green beans

Sunday, a day of rest according to my religious faith.  I am still trying to remember what it means to be a student and find that elusive thing called balance. I got up and headed to a church in East Bawlmore (Baltimore) and had a great time fellowshipping and reconnecting with one of my college sorority sisters. Immediately  after I headed to H-mart.  I was so happy to find out that there was one only 15 minutes away from my house, give or take traffic. What’s H-mart you may ask? It is this fantabulous (yes I made up a word…lol) Korean grocery store that has an excellent variety of Asian food and produce at lower prices than you would find at a traditional grocery store.

I was like a kid in a candy store. Since I had it in my mind to make a cold soba noodle dish for my lunch this week, I was going aisle by aisle brainstorming what to buy to go into the dish. My eye locked in on a couple of things: Chinese broccoli, Korean marinated beef, mushrooms, hoisin sauce, and seaweed strips. I can’t wait to come up with a dish–I will post it towards the end of the week once I have had a chance to try it.

I was so happy to leave the store with a basket full of fresh produce and lots of odds and ends for less than $50. I did good! You must check H-mart out if you have never been!

Now onto the actual topic of the blog–my Sunday dinner. I basically used what I had on hand for the most part with the exception of the green beans which I got from H-mart.  Before school started I went to BJ’s and loaded up and one of the things I bought was tilapia. I ended up thawing out two individual filets.  I ended up roasting the tilapia at 350 F for about 10-15 min after I rubbed some Wegmen’s basting oil on them and then sprinkled them with salt.

The basting oil has herbs and garlic in it. If you don’t have that(or don’t have access to a Wegmans), you can mix some olive oil with your favorite herbs and some minced garlic together and then add it to the fish.

I also had some quinoa and two sweet potatoes left. I thought it would be cool to try to see what would happen if I liquified the sweet potatoes(after I roasted them) and added them to the quinoa with some cinnamon and some brown sugar. Sautéed green beans completed the dish.

I finished off the dish with a glass of white wine. YUM!!!!! I really liked the subtle sweetness of the quinoa paired with the savory tilapia and green beans.  Very filling and tasty!  This will be added to the rotation!

Sweet Potato Quinoa

2 small sweet potatoes  or one medium size sweet potato, roasted

1 cup of quinoa

2 cups water

1/2 tablespoon of brown sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1. Roast sweet potato(es) at 400 F until fully cooked (you should be able to stick a knife through them). Let them cool; remove skins.

2. Prepare quinoa according to the instructions on the bag or box. Prior to adding the quinoa to the water, add the sweet potatoes and then use an immersion blender to fully blend them into the water. Add the sugar and the cinnamon and then blend again. Add the quinoa and then cook according to your boxes instructions.

3. Serve while still hot. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in cooking, fish dish, food, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes, wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

