Pre-Orientation Sweet Potato Bread (Cake)

Last week when I was bulk shopping in BJ’s, I think I lost my mind. I ended up buying this big behind bag of sweet potatoes with the intent to eat one for breakfast everyday subsequently. It really didn’t happen. Pancakes, parfait, and other things happened. So I found myself in a dilemma. What to do with the sweet potatoes before they went bad?

So on the eve of my school orientation day, in over 90°F heat (luckily in central air), I decided to make sweet potato bread. I call it sweet potato cake because it is sweet enough to be cake and I ended up baking it in a bundt pan. It came out super moist and more importantly, super tasty. It may be too hot for your apartments or houses to bake right now, but I definitely would urge you to do this on a cool day or even save this recipe for the fall. Sweet potatoes are one of the best things for someone who is running or exercising to eat because they really do a good job of fueling the body.

Here’s my result:

I cut out a slice so you could see it better below:

I made a few changes to the recipe I am about to show you and I have indicated them in red. I chopped the sweet potato into smaller pieces and then I steamed them so they could retain a lot of their nutrients before I mashed them. In addition, instead of using a full cup of vegetable oil, I did 1/2 cup of flax seed oil and 1/2 cup of canola oil. Last thing, I doubled the recipe (the recipe below is doubled already) so there would be enough for the bundt pan.

Here’s the recipe:

Sweet Potato Bread

 Original Recipe Yield 1 – 9 x 5 inch loaf

Ingredients

  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil ( I used 1/2 cup flax seed oil and 1/2 cup canola oil)
  • 4 eggs
  • 3-1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 2 cups cooked and mashed sweet potatoes ( I steamed the sweet potatoes)
  • 1 cup chopped pecans ( I didn’t add pecans–not a fan)

Directions

This recipe’s Ingredients were scaled to yield a new amount. The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield of 1 – 9 x 5 inch loaf.
  1. Combine sugar and oil; beat well. Add eggs and beat. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Stir flour mixture into egg mixture alternately with water. Stir in sweet potatoes and chopped nuts.
  2. Pour batter into greased 9×5 inch loaf pan (I used a bundt pan) (or 2 small loaf pans). Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for about one hour (if you use a bundt pan, you will have to bake a little longer–about 1 hour and 2o minutes, depending on your oven).
This entry was posted in being present, cooking, food, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

