Meatless Monday challenge: Roasted Vegetables and Hummus on a Gluten Free Pizza Crust

How many of you are participating in the National Meatless Monday Campaign?  This campaign was started back in 2003 to try to get Americans to reduce their meat consumption by 15%  in order to create healthier lives for ourselves and our planet. By giving up meat for one day (it doesn’t have to be a Monday…lol) can lower your risk of cancer, cardiovascular disease and diabetes, just to name a few. I know many people are afraid to give up meat because they can’t think of vegetarian or vegan options beyond salad and tofu, but I highly recommend you try.

Explore the internet and look up recipes that contain some of your favorite vegetables or legumes. If you are thinking you don’t like vegetables, try one that you may not have ever eaten. Or try cooking them in a different way. I know when I was younger, I didn’t like vegetables because my mother would cook them until they were mush. Now that I control my cooking, I love veggies–sautéed, baked, steamed. The possibilities are endless. Give it a shot!

One of my sorority sisters Michelle has started a website/blog called “Vegan Cooking with love”  to make it even easier to find healthy meat free recipes.  You can sign up for 8 weeks of Vegan Meatless Monday recipes that include breakfast, lunch, dinner and even dessert. I signed up and got my first set of recipes last week. The one recipe that really jumped out at me was one for Roasted Vegetables and Hummus Sandwich. Because I am trying to clear out my refrigerator due to my impeding move, I used the bread I had available which was a Gluten Free Pizza Crust. My friend (another Michelle) introduced me to these pizza crusts by Udi. Love them!!!

In addition, I was cheap–I couldn’t find a thing of tahini less than $8, so I decided to buy a premade hummus from Trader Joes (side note: Love that store!!!!!)

I followed the instructions(below) verbatim. I just didn’t make my own hummus (the recipe for this is below) or make it into a sandwich. I toasted the pizza crust and then I slathered the hummus on top and then added the roasted veggies on top. Very Yummy!

A picture of the veggies in the marinade. I used red cabbage, crimini mushrooms, tomatoes and zucchini. I placed them in the refrigerator for 30 minutes:

Fully assembled “pizza”:

Next time, I will make for veggies for the pizza, but other than that, this recipe was wonderful! I can’t wait to see what recipes I will get from Vegan cooking with Love this week.  If you are interested in signing up for free recipes, click here.

Marinated Vegetable and Hummus Sandwich


Vegetables
Use a mix of vegetables that you like on your sandwich. Here are some suggestions…bell peppers, zucchini, mushrooms, yellow squash, onions, tomatoes and eggplant.

Marinade
¼ cup water
½ cup balsamic vinegar
¼ cup soy sauce
1 teaspoon dried rosemary
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon dried oregano
⅛ teaspoon ground black pepper
small amount of oil for tossing right before roasting

Hummus
1 15 oz can of chickpeas
⅓ cup tahini (roasted not raw)
Juice from 1 lemon (and zest)
2 cloves garlic, crushed
½ teaspoon sea salt
1-2 tablespoon olive oil
⅔ cup water
¼ teaspoon smoked paprika

Process
Vegetables
1. Cut your vegetables in 1/4 inch slices.
2. Mix the ingredients for the marinade until combined.
3. Add the vegetables to the marinade, making sure that they are all covered. I’ve had good luck with
using a large Ziploc bag to marinate vegetables.
4. Marinate the vegetables for 30 minutes.
5. Remove the vegetables from the marinade and place them in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet.
You may want to cover the baking sheet in foil to make clean up easier.
6. Preheat the oven to 450.
7. Toss the vegetables with a small amount of oil.
8. Once the oven is preheated, roast the vegetables for 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.
9. The vegetables are done when they are tender and browned.
Hummus
1. Drain and rinse the chickpeas and set aside.
2. Combine the tahini and the lemon juice and blend until smooth and frothy.
3. Add the garlic and salt and blend again.
4. Now add in the chickpeas about 1/3 of the can at a time and blend until smooth.
5. Add water to get a creamy, light texture and help the chickpeas blend.
6. Once all the chickpeas are blended, add the olive oil and turn on the blender and just let it run for a
few minutes.
7. Assemble your sandwich.

Source
The 30-Day Vegan Challenge by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau (Marinated Portobello Mushroom Steaks recipe,
adapted)
Hummus (adapted) – http://thetobyshow.typepad.com/the_toby_show/2008/03/the-secret-of-r.html

This entry was posted in being present, cooking, public health issues, recipes, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meatless Monday challenge: Roasted Vegetables and Hummus on a Gluten Free Pizza Crust

  1. michelle1908 says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I love the idea of using the pizza crusts.

Leave a Reply

