“Aw-we-oo killer tofu” strawberry smoothie

As I have stated before, sometimes the most random songs pop into my head when I make food. Am I the only one out there that remembers the cartoon Doug on Nickelodeon? Here’s a picture of Doug and his dog, Pork chop.

If you do remember Doug, I am sure you probably recall that Doug’s favorite band was the Beets and the song they would always sing was “Killer tofu”:

“Fast food feels fuzzy
Cause it tastes like stuff that’s scuzzy
I used to feel like such a nerd
I refused to eat that strange bean curd
I didn’t eat it -ow- but it ate you
Aw-wee-oo
Killer Tofu
Eee-aw-wee Iee-oo
Killer Tofu

I eat my sugared cereal
But it makes my teeth bacterial
Ee-awee-oo EE-awee
If you’re feeling kind of cruddy
Just stick beside your buddy
And don’t eat too much fried food -ow-
Aw-wee-oo
Killer Tofu
Eee-aw-wee Iee-oo
Killer Tofu”

(click here to hear the song)

For some reason, this song popped in my head after I decided to pick up a box of silken tofu from the local health foods store this weekend:

After looking at the label and seeing that it could be used in smoothies, I decided to give it a try. I figured if it worked, it would be a great way to sneak in some extra protein in the morning to aid in my running recovery.

“Aw-we-oo killer tofu!!!!!”

I ended up using the silken tofu as a dairy replacement. I used about half of the box of tofu and then added some water to my blender and blended until it was liquified. Then I added a half of a banana, about two handfuls of strawberries, and a handful of spinach and blended.  It was yummy! The lovely thing about tofu is that it will take the taste of whatever you blend/cook it with. So, don’t be afraid–try it!

Unfortunately, I got so wrapped up in my creation that I forgot to take a picture of it, but you get the drift. (picture from here).

And I know I am not the only one out here that remembers that song…lol

This entry was posted in being present, recipes, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

