3.1 miles and channa masala

There’s always that nervous feeling before a race. Can I do this? Have I trained enough? As a recovering couch potato, It’s not like I am a pro at the pre-run symptoms, but I can imagine. Prior to my 5K run yesterday, I was definitely feeling those two things.  I know I had only started pushing myself in the past few weeks. Joining a running group has definitely helped me with endurance, but I didn’t know if that would be enough.  I was doubting myself, acting like I hadn’t run a 5K before–I have completed 3 in the past two years-1 where I ran the whole thing without stopping. But would I be able to do it again?

8:30 a.m. :  I had just finished cheering on my buddy Nicole who started her half marathon right before my race started. I was feeling excited for her and nervous for me. It really sucks waiting for a race to start–all that adrenaline firing up inside and you can’t start. At 8:40 a.m., my race started, FINALLY! The first mile was a breeze, the second mile was very long to me…lol, and the third was tiring. I had overheard these two runners beside me telling each other “just keep running, just keep running…”Over and over again. It reminding me of the animated movie “Finding Nemo” where the one fish says to another fish, “just keep swimming, just keep swimming…” I kept telling myself that over and over again and I was able to push myself to finish.  What was even more exciting to me was that I finished 3 minutes faster than my last 5K on Labor day.

This race definitely gave me the motivation to push myself in training to prepare for this 10K I am running in June. Race on! Watching Nicole complete her half marathon made me dream that maybe one day I will have the courage to train and run one of those as well. But baby steps. After all, I just stopped being a couch potato last January. I am trying to correct more than 10 years worth of sedentary living.  But work on it I will.

Food and accomplishment tend to go hand in hand with me. So I was inspired to make a celebratory dinner for myself. My friends Katurah and Michelle L. had put the thought of Indian Food in my head, so I search for vegan dish that could fit my bill. After pursuing the blog, Oh she glows, I settled on channa masala, a favorite of mine. If you have never had it, you should try it the next time you go to an Indian restaurant. It is basically a dish where chickpeas are cooked in wonderful spices. I had never made this at home but I decided to give it a try. My belly was extremely pleased with the result. A glass of Pinot grigio and garlic naan from Trader Joe’s completed the meal. YUM!!!!!

The only thing I couldn’t find (that I needed for this recipe) was the madras masala. I ended up using madras curry spice instead. If any of you know where I could find madras masala, please let me know.

Here’s the recipe, from the oh she glows website:

Channa Masala

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups chick peas, cooked
  • 1 tbsp. oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup canned ground or crushed tomatoes, unsalted
  • 1.5-2 tbsp. Madras Masala, to taste*
  • 1-2 tsp. sugar, to taste (optional)
  • 1.5 cup water (I used 2 cups and it was much too thin)
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt, or salt to taste
  • 4 tbsp. cilantro, finely chopped, to garnish (optional)
  • 1 tsp. Garam Masala, to garnish (optional)

Directions: Rinse chickpeas and drain. Set aside. In a medium-sized pan, heat oil on medium-high heat and add in chopped onions. Add ground/crushed tomatoes and cook for one minute. Add Madras Masala spice to make a paste (or you can make your own from scratch). Fry paste for a couple of minutes. Stir in cooked chickpeas and add water to make a consistent sauce. Add salt and sugar to taste. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Serve with basmati rice (optional). Serves 4.

This entry was posted in cooking, dedication, exercise, friends, Indian food, martha stewart eat your heart out and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

