Day 10, Reboot Complete: Lessons learned

Day 10! Ten days of eating nothing but fruit and veggies has finally come to an end. It definitely was tough at points but my body truly appreciated it. Cheers to my last juice of the reboot! I made a pineapple, pear, spinach and romaine lettuce juice. Yum!

I think the message about healthy eating and the importance of a plant based diet was definitely driven home. With any thing you eat, good or bad, it should be done in moderation. And I think every person must find the best way of eating for his or her body.  There is no one way of eating that will fit everyone. I don’t think everyone is meant to be a vegan or a vegetarian, or a meat eater. I think you have to really become attuned to your body and discover what makes it function at its optimal best.

I realized for me that my body prefers a plant heavy diet, with some meat and dairy on occasion.  Not to say that there won’t be times that I may have a stronger desire to sway one way or another. I have also committed to decreasing my caffeine consumption. I really don’t want my body to become that addicted to the stuff. So I am down to one cup of tea a day or every other day.

And juicing is a way of life. I will continue to make juicing an important part of my day(or every other day). It definitely helps that I bought those mason jars. Now I can make some juices ahead of time and drink them the next day.

So for anyone thinking about doing a reboot, detox, or juice fast, here are some things to consider:

1. If you don’t eat healthy currently, you may want to slowly change your diet and remove bad things one at a time before doing a fast, etc cold turkey. If you do decide to do it cold turkey, I would talk to your physician first.

2. You can get all of the protein and calcium you need from plant based sources.  I recommend you research this if you don’t believe me.

3. While detoxing, you must be prepared to deal with the physical as well as mental manifestations. Your body might become sluggish, you could be tired, headaches are a strong possibility. You might become emotional and old stuff that you didn’t deal with could come back up. Use this time to draw closer to your source. For me, that meant drawing closer to Jesus.

4. You may have problems “moving mountains…lol” while sitting on your porcelain throne. If you do, eat some prunes, add some flaxseed or chia seeds to your smoothies or juice, or take some fish oil pills. That should do the trick.

5. Be prepared to have the way you think about food change even more. You may find that your taste buds are changed and you can’t eat the same foods you used to. Things might become sweeter or saltier. You might not be able to drink as much.

Overall, this was a great experience, as all detoxes are. You will not like how you feel for the first few days, but it gets better I promise. As you continue detoxing, whether its seasonal like me, for a day, or even every 9 to 10 weeks, you will continue to grow. Your food choices (hopefully) will become better after each time. Hopefully someday, you will not even have to do a detox because you are eating so well that your body won’t need it.

That is what I am striving for. I probably will be for the rest of my life, but I definitely feel that is something to shoot for:)

*For more information about my detox that I just completed, click here.

This entry was posted in detox, health, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

