Reboot Days 6 and 7: Food for the soul

So I am still detoxing, but the end is near. I have conquered Days 6 and 7 this weekend and really feel like my body is working more efficiently. I am definitely less sluggish than before I started the detox and I am not craving the sweets like I used to. But I guess the real test will be on Wednesday night, when I stop the detox and go back to my normal way of eating.

Day 6

Saturday was almost a lazy slug a bed day, but I made myself get up and do my 10 am run with my running group. Although my strength level is slightly down because of the detox, I was able to finish a little over 2 miles with the group, with some walking in between.  I had plans to go back to my apartment at that point , but one of the members invited me to join her women’s fellowship in Wooster square. They were going to go to the farmer’s market and then do Bible study for about an hour.  I figured, why not and I was truly blessed my time spent with the lovely ladies and our discussion about the presence of God in our lives.

After such a great experience, I had to rush home and start to get ready for my “girls night in” with my friend, N. Just because you are on a detox doesn’t mean you can’t get together with your friends to break bread. I must say it was a fantastic dinner despite my limitations.

We started off the meal with some fresh fruit courtesy of N followed by sliced roasted potatoes topped with mango salsa:

This dish so yummy and is very easy to make. You just need a russet potato that you will then slice very thinly and rub a little olive oil on each sides. Then you will place the potatoes on a baking or cookie sheet that has been covered with aluminum foil and roast the potatoes at 400 F on both sides until they are nice and brown. Then you would top them with the mango salsa. The recipe for that can be found by clicking here.

Next up was a lovely salad prepared by N:

The dressing she brought was amazing! It was Newman’s Own light roasted garlic vinaigrette. I definitely will have to buy some the next time I am in the grocery store!

For the main course, I made a curried sweet potato soup with coconut milk and served it with a small side of kale chips. This dish was so filling and tasty! I really liked all of the flavors melded together. Whodda thought that coconut and sweet potato would taste so good together? This is definitely a soup I will be making again, detox or not. Click here for the recipe.

A close up of the kale chips

If you have never made kale chips, I highly recommend them. They are so good. And they have such a nice satisfying crunch you can fool yourself into thinking you are eating chips. Plus you can sprinkle salt or your favorite seasoning on top to give them a different taste. For a recipe on how to make them, click here.

We ended up following that up with more fruit. Boy, were we both stuffed! All in all, I would say it was a fantastic night and an even greater bonding experience for N and I. Love my friends!

Day 7

I am so proud that I made myself go to church this morning. I was so close to being a “bedside baptist”…lol. But get up I did and started off the morning like I have been the past 6 days—with a hot cup of water with lemon and read the Bible. I followed that with a beet, pear, celery, and collard green juice with ginger:

After that, I quickly got ready and then headed off to church were the preacher discussed Psalm 121. Sunday school was even better because my teacher loves to call us out if we don’t do our homework. We are in the process of delving into the book of Luke, so it was interesting learning about the important people found within those pages. I always find it so interesting in how the four gospels targeted different groups of people.

After such a great lesson at Sunday school, I headed home and made myself a big strawberry, spinach, banana and pineapple smoothie where I used coconut water as the base. Yum!

I basically lounged all day because it was pouring down rain and it is so hard to feel motivated to do anything when it rains.  And as I am the queen of the leftovers, my dinner will be some of that wonderful soup from last night.

Overall, my detox is progressing nicely. When I first started, I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to keep to the diet and shove a doughnut down my throat. With only three days left, I am finally feeling the benefits of this detox and am looking forward to incorporating even healthier options in my already decent repertoire. I fully feel we are what we eat and I am going to be even more conscious of that in the future. Now on to Day 8!

This entry was posted in cooking, detox, food, health, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

