Spring Reboot Days 4 and 5: The art of health

The past few days have been quite interesting to say the least. I finally got over the headache from my processed foods and sugar withdrawal, but now I am dealing with a lot of congestion. I am not sure if it is the pollen, my detox, or a combination of the two. Other than that, I have been feeling relatively fine. My energy levels have been slightly below normal at times and then higher than normal at other times. Overall, I am feeling good and thing that the last 5 days of this detox might not be so bad.

However, it has me thinking about the cost of health and how everyone can’t necessarily afford and have access to it. Health begins with the way we treat our body and what we consume. If you look at a person with a poor diet filled with processed foods versus someone who eats a predominately healthy diet filled with fruits and veggies and some meat, the health outcomes are outstanding. Unfortunately, many poor health choices can’t be corrected if a person doesn’t have access to fresh fruit and veggies. Even in CT, where I am sure most of the country thinks everyone is rich, there are pockets where people are living in food deserts, with no access to healthy options. The question is how do we change this? How do we make healthy food more accessible to those who couldn’t otherwise afford it and to give knowledge to those that are choosing wrong, but can afford it?  This is one of the things I hope to learn while I’m studying at Johns Hopkins for the next 11 months.

Yale’s School of Public Health and the Yale School of Art teamed up to show the effects of a poor diet on the body. Here’s my favorite poster:

The common theme of many of the posters was the amount of sugar (both hidden and clearly visible) that we take into our bodies.  This detox has definitely driven home the importance of me reducing my sugar consumption in the future. As I stated in my post on Wednesday, it takes 21-28 days for sugar to fully leave your body. Isn’t that crazy? That is definitely a strong reason for me to reduce my consumption!

I am done preaching…lol Now onto my latest eats and juices for the detox:

Day 4

1. Had a cup of hot water with lemon and read my Bible

2. Made a yummy pineapple, mango and romaine lettuce juice.  My body was craving pineapple since Tuesday so I finally gave in and bought one and have been eating it ever since.  Also as  a sidenote, pineapple contains Bromelain, which is an anti-inflammatory agent. So it is definitely a good thing to consume if you have sinusitis or any other inflammatory issue. To make this juice, you need one mango peeled and seed removed, 1/4 fresh pineapple, and a head of romaine lettuce:

3. For my mid morning snack, I had some fresh pineapple and strawberries.

4. For lunch I ended up running over to a local Vegetarian spot and having getting a smoothie that had strawberry, mango, hemp seed (a good source of plant based protein), flaxseed and  blueberry tea (decaffeinated) as its base.

5. For my mid afternoon snack, I had an orange and picked over another Kale salad.

6. I did some cross training (elliptical, steps, and bike)

7. I got really creative and made potato rounds that I baked at 400 F with a little olive oil and salt and then topped them with homemade guacamole and chopped up tomato with garlic, lime and cilantro. Very satisfying.

Day 5

1. Had a cup of hot water with lemon and read my Bible

2. Made a red cabbage, pear and lettuce juice which contained:

1 thumb sized piece of ginger

1 peeled lemon

2 peeled pears

1/4 wedge of red cabbage

1 romaine lettuce head.

I stored the majority of it in a mason jar to bring to work, but here is a picture of the “shot” I took of the juice:

I followed this juice with a banana.

3. Will eat some more pineapple and strawberries.

4. For lunch I will eat a Kale Salad topped with a basic viniagrette.

5. For my snack, I will drink the rest of the juice I made this morning.

6. For dinner, I will finally finish up the stir fry I told you about on Wednesday with kale noodles.

To make this, you will need:

1 small bag of kelp noodles

1 small onion

1 bunch of green onion

4 cloves of garlic ( you can use less if you want. I just love garlic and it is good for your immune system)

1 big hunk of broccoli, I chopped off all of the florets to use in the stir fry

Organic soy sauce (its also called Shoyu. You can also use Braggs  liquid aminos, which is a healthy alternative to soy sauce. I used a little of both)

I heated a wok on mid high and then I put in about a tablespoon of olive oil and then sauteed my onions and broccoli until the onions where soft and until the broccoli became slightly greener. Then I tossed in the garlic and the kelp noodles  and added about a tablespoon of soy sauce and sprayed the stir fry with a little of the Braggs. I made sure I mixed everything together and then I placed some in a bowl which I topped with some chopped green onions.

So that about summarizes Day 4 and 5. Day 6 will be interesting because I am having a good friend over for dinner. So I will let you know on Monday how I am able to pull off a good and filling meal while keeping in mind all of my restrictions.

Have a great weekend and please let me know if you have any questions about this crazy detox I am doing.

You can also click here for more information.

This entry was posted in being present, detox, food, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

