Oh baby, I like it raw…and vegan: Spring reboot kickoff

“Hey Baby, I like it raw, ya baby I like it raw! Oh baby I like it Raw!!!… Classic lyrics from “Shimmy, Shimmy ya” by Ol’ Dirty B–tard*, may he rest in peace. For some reason, this rap song popped in my mind when I thought about my 10 day body reboot that starts today.

I was inspired to reboot after watching Joe Cross’s documentary”Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” and checking out his website, reboot your life. The documentary, which you can watch for free on Hulu, tells the story of Cross’s attempt to heal himself from a debilitating autoimmune disease and get his body back in its healthy weight range. He undertakes a 60 day Juice Fast (of freshly juiced greens and fruit) and travels across the U.S. talking to people about their views about diet and overall health.  I won’t spoil the ending, but it definitely was eye opening.

It further enforced my growing interest in veganism and vegetarianism and the importance  of eating a mostly plant based diet. And lastly, the benefits of juicing. Juicing is wonderful because it gets nutrients and minerals directly to your system without having to digest. This gives your digestive system a chance to rest and your body can use that energy to focus on healing other parts of your body that are out of wack.  I have always known that juicing was good for you circa Jack Lalanne, but it was cool to see how it visibly made several people better.

So for the next 10 days I will be taking part in a “quick start reboot.” On this reboot, I will be juicing as well as eating a lot fruit and vegetables. Absolutely no processed foods or meat (yes, seafood is meat) and no sugar or caffeine. I gave up caffeine last week so I wouldn’t have to go through caffeine withdrawal on top of the other detoxifying my body will be doing. In addition, I will continue to train for my 10K in June and use this time to try a bunch of veggies and juice combinations that I haven’t tasted yet as well. For more information about this reboot and for great recipes, click here.

I know you are thinking, how will I get protein if I don’t eat meat? Surprisingly, there is a lot of protein in several kinds of vegetables, especially the dark leafy greens. In addition, edamame, which is a soybean in a pod (if you are not familiar, think Asian peas in a pod) which has approximately 13 g of protein per serving size. So I will be covered.

More importantly, I will be increasing my level of nutrients by eating, juicing and smoothie-ing my way through loads of veggies and fruit, so I am excited to see how my body benefits from it.

Here’s my produce for the first 5 to 7 days:

This week, I will also be trying kelp noodles for the first time. Kelp is a seaweed (sea veggie) that has a neutral taste that can be used in stir fries and salads:

If you are interested in trying them, you can get them from Whole Foods or an Asian Food Store.

This week’s lunch is going to be a big Kale Salad with red and yellow peppers, carrots and edamame. I made an orange ginger dressing to go along with it. The salad was inspired by the layered salad I made a few weeks ago. Since I can’t eat grain, I substituted Kale for it. The rest of the recipe is the same. Also the last difference is that I will add the dressing to the salad and toss it each morning prior to packing it for lunch. That way, the kale leaves will soften and be more chewable by the time lunch hour rolls around. Here’s my salad:

Click here for the original salad and the dressing recipe.

The first day of detoxing will go like this:

1. Get up have a hot cup of water with lemon

2. Dry Body Brush, which stimulates the cells in your skin and aids in detoxing (read about this here) and shower.

3. Juice of the morning and make one to go, which I will store in a mason jar. Mason jars or other tightly sealed jars are the recommended way to carry freshly made juice. Click here for why this is important.

What I made this morning:

Juice Smorgsborg:

1/2 apple, peeled (mine wasn’t organic)

1/2 pear, peeled

1/2 cucumber

1 inch peeled piece of ginger

2 carrots (organic, not peeled)

4 celery hearts

My juice to go was from the reboot website:

Apple Carrots Green Juice (The juice has 9g of protein):

2 apples

1 wedge red cabbage

1 thumb sized piece of ginger that has been peeled

6 leaves swiss chard(I used collards in their place because they are cheaper and have the same nutritional value)

1/4 lemon

4. When I get hungry, I will have the “stella get your groove back” glowing green smoothie (For that recipe, click here).

5. At some point, I will eat my salad

6. I will have another juice for a late afternoon snack

7. Do my 2 mile run

8. Cook a veggie stir fry with the kelp noodles

9. A few hours later, a cup of herbal tea and bedtime

Lastly, throughout the day, I will drink lots of water.

So, although I will be eating veggies and fruit, I won’t starve. In fact, I am looking forward to all of the new recipes I will try. Stay with me on this journey for the next 9 days. Maybe I’ll inspire you to give it a try. 🙂

*If you are not familiar with the rap artist I mentioned above or the song, click here.

This entry was posted in detox, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh baby, I like it raw…and vegan: Spring reboot kickoff

  1. cindylumpkin says:

    Looking forward to seeing how this goes. I am getting inspired.

  2. Pingback: Spring Reboot Days 4 and 5: The art of health | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

