“Oh my! Tastes like Sweet Potato Pie!” Oatmeal

Occasionally I have these sparks of creativity in the kitchen that leads to a recipe of my own invention. Sunday happened to be one of those days. I had been thinking about breakfast (as I always do…lol) for the week and I was quite stumped. For the past two weeks I was on a juicing kick and for the two weeks before that I was on a “glowing green smoothie” kick courtesy of “friend in my head” Heather Lindsey.

But this week, because of the recent cold resurgence, I wanted a nice hot and healthy breakfast to stick to my ribs. I was really stumped until I saw a lone sweet potato in my kitchen. Since I am trying to play around with veggies for breakfast, I figured why not do something with this? Why not Sweet Potatoes and Oatmeal? Since steel cut oats and regular oatmeal are neutral in taste, the sweet potato would give it a nice flavor and I could use a little brown sugar to sweeten it.

The recipe developed a life of its own. I knew from previous experience that roasting sweet potatoes at higher temps brings out the sweetness more, so I roasted the potato, added it to my slow cooker and then used my immersion blender to blend the sweet potato into the liquid. Then I added the steel cut oats and cooked it overnight on low. I woke up to sweet potato pie smelling goodness! Here’s my result:

After I scooped a serving out of the crock pot and placed it into a bowl for consumption, I sprinkled it with brown sugar. OMG! So so good!

And I think it gets better as leftovers. I swear it tasted better today than it did yesterday. It seems like the sweet potato and cinnamon had time to really permeate the dish. I am so glad I decided to experiment and I definitely will be making this again.

Here’s my recipe:

1 Sweet Potato

1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon (more or less depending on how much you love cinnamon)

1 cup steel cut oats

1 cup almond milk

3 cups filtered water

brown sugar (for garnish)

1. Preheat oven to 450 F. Wash the sweet potato and then puncture it a few times with a knife and then wrap it good in aluminum foil. Place on a cookie sheet and then roast in the oven for about 45 minutes to an hour. You will know the potato is done when you can stick a knife through it.

2. Get out your slow cooker. It will be easy to do it this way provided you don’t have a giant slow cooker. I think mine is about a 8-10 cup slow cooker. I added the 3 cups of water and the 1 cup of almond milk to my slow cooker and then I added the sweet potato. I then used my immersion blender to blend the sweet potato into liquid form, making sure no lumps were left.

3. Then I added the cinnamon and then oats and mixed them into the liquid and then placed the lid on my crock pot and turned it on the lowest setting and left it overnight. The next morning, my oats were ready to eat.

*Alternatively, you could do this on the stove the same day. You would just follow the steel cut oats’ cooking instructions on the back of the container.

Side note: I stored my excess in a container, let it cool and then stuck it in the refrigerator. Then everyday, I have been taking out a portion and nuking it in the microwave for about 4 to 5 minutes. Then it is ready to be consumed. Alternatively, you could place a portion in a pot on the stove with a little bit of almond milk or water (whatever your preference) and reheat it that way.

 

This entry was posted in cooking, food, happiness, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Oh my! Tastes like Sweet Potato Pie!” Oatmeal

  1. mlhouse says:

    This looks crazy-good! Will definitely give it a try. Thanks! 🙂

  2. Tee Butler says:

    Just made this! Tinkered with the recipe because only had about 3/4 cup of steeled oats left. So I mixed some raw rolled oats to get to 1 cup (improvised). Also added 2 sweet potatoes. It came out beautiful. Threw in nutmeg with the cinnamon to get more pie flavor. Added several TBS of brown sugar and turned to warm. Can’t wait get a bowl.

Leave a Reply

