Mango Agua Fresca and Baltimore apartment hunting

So sorry I have been M.I.A for the past few days. I was in Baltimore, Maryland, apartment hunting for my next big step–back to school for a Master’s of Public Health. Many of my friends think I am slightly crazy to go back to school because I already have a PhD, but the MPH will give me a strong foundation in Epidemiology and allow me to use my infectious disease background in public health practice. And I am excited to be going to Johns Hopkins Bloomberg school of public health to do this.

This past Thursday, I engaged in a day long apartment hunting venture in Baltimore.For those who have never been, the city is full of contrasts. You can be in a beautiful neighborhood one minute, with gorgeous row houses and then in one block, you could be in a desert full of boarded up houses. However, I definitely can see why people call Baltimore the charm city and I am looking forward to my 11 months there (the length of my MPH program). At the end of the day, I decided on an apartment in the Mt. Vernon neighborhood and then set out to waterfront to check into my hotel and explore.

It was beautiful down there–lots of food, an aquarium, and several shops to indulge oneself.

The next day, I headed to the school of public health for admitted students days to learn all about what was in store for me the next 11 months as well as to meet a few of my soon to be classmates. Did I say I was excited to be going back to school? My takeaway from that day was that I have ALOT of work to do before I even get to campus. I really need to try to narrow down my foci so that when I get to campus I don’t try to do everything.

So it is with excitement that I am writing this post while I sip on my mango agua fresca.

I saw a recipe for this while I was in Whole Foods grocery shopping. Whole foods is definitely very smart. Next to their tempting and ripe Mangos, they had all of these recipes you could do with them. The recipe that they had for Mango Agua Fresca really peaked my interest, so I brought home a mango and got to work.  I was very pleased with the results. It is very refreshing and tasty! I didn’t add the agave because I thought my mango was sweet enough without it.

Here’s the recipe(can serve 1 or two, depending on your cup size):

Ingredients

1 ripe mango, peeled, pitted and cut into chunks

1 1/2 cups cold water

ice

1/2 teaspoon freshly squeezed lime juice

1/2 teaspoons agave nectar or honey, more or less to taste

Lime wedge and mint leaves, for garnish

Method

In a blender combine mango and water’ blend until smooth. Pour through a strainer into ice-filled glasses. Stir in lime juice and agave. Serve garnished with lime and mint.

This entry was posted in being present, happiness, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mango Agua Fresca and Baltimore apartment hunting

  1. Yinzerella says:

    An early welcome to Baltimore!
    Been here 2 years (live in Old Goucher–right south of JHU) and enjoy it. You will like living in Mt. Vernon.

  2. brandnewphd says:

    Thanks!!! What would you say is your favorite thing about living in Baltimore?

  3. WOW Shanta! Congrats on the new educational venture! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

