My brother from another mother

Usually, when people say “My brother from another mother”, they are referring to a close friend whom you have known for your whole life, but in my case, I am referring to my genetic brother. My brother David and I didn’t grow up in the same household and we have different mother’s. But the common theme that runs between us is our father’s blood.
I am in the unique position where I am the youngest and the oldest. By my mother, I am the oldest child and by my father, I am the youngest and only girl. I vaguely remember my brother in my childhood: he was there when my father brought me a Teddy Ruxpin and an ALF doll and I remember him again at our father’s funeral. However, we were raised miles apart and didn’t really start to become close until David reached out to me in college.

I think it was an adjustment for us both: my brother is an only child by his mother, so he had to get more accustomed to building a relationship with his younger sister and I had to get used to having an older brother that was concerned about me.

It hasn’t always been an easy road for both of us, but is it ever when you are trying to build something from the ground up? But I am so glad we have both stuck with it. Genetics are sure freaky or maybe our father’s traits are just strong, but I feel he is the sibling that looks the most like me. And also probably the one that acts the most like me. Although he probably would tell you that isn’t true…lol

I am so happy that I have an older brother that will joke me when I am being too serious(side note: although I don’t always appreciate it at the time…lol), tell me his true opinion about my love life (or lack thereof…lol) and just be there for me.  Since he has gotten married, it added a new dimension to our relationship: now I have a sister-in-law and little nephew that have created so much depth and love to my life. My only regret is that I can’t see them as much as I wish.

This post is dedicated to my big bro on his birthday(today) and I just wanted to show him how much I appreciate and love him. I am so thankful that he has become such an important part of my life.

I love ya, Bro!

David and I at my PhD graduation

 

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

