My (ever so) slight obsession with tea

Well, maybe not slight. My brother in his very endearing (slightly sarcastic) manner…lol pointed this out to me yesterday. He was very surprised I hadn’t written about my obsessive love for tea yet. He even jokingly said my name could be ShanTea instead of Shanta. Ha! He thinks he’s funny, but I digress.

As long as I can remember, I have been a tea lover, but I think over the years it has become borderline obsessive. I have never been a coffee drinker. I tried it once in college to try to stay up to cram for an exam, but I ended up feeling like my heart was going to explode out of my chest. So coffee was out. Tea became my warm drink of choice. I drink at least 1 to 3 cups of tea a day. In fact, I am drinking it as I am writing this blog post.

A quick run down of my 5 favorite tea flavors:

1. English breakfast

2. Assam

3. Irish breakfast

4. Passion Fruit Tea

5. Oolong

Over the years, I have become more and more discerning, yet practical about my tea. Of course loose leaf tea is better, but I do drink an English Breakfast blend that is in a bag. It does save time. My obsession was so bad that the first trip I took where I needed a passport was to go to London so I could have a true afternoon tea like the Brits.

Me on the plane to London in 2004:

I loved London and enjoyed every minute–Westminster Abbey, the Crown Jewels, Big Ben and Parliament, trolling around Piccadilly Circus and Trafalgar square, the Indian Food…. I could go on and on. But the highlight of my trip was going to Kensington Palace Orangery and having afternoon tea.

I didn’t realize what an event it would be! The tea I ordered started off with a Kir Royale and then I was brought an assortment of finger sandwiches and scones with clotted cream and jam. Then came the glorious tea. I think I had a cup of Assam if I remember correctly.  After that, came a slice of cake. By the time we finished tea, I was full and couldn’t eat dinner that night…lol

Every time that I have been out of the country, I try to look for tea. I think the craziest tea I ever encountered was when I was in Dominica for work two years ago and found and brought home some “horny goat tea”. Very interesting name, but very tasty…lol

Unfortunately one of my favorite brands of tea is also very expensive because it has to be imported:

My PhD advisor got me hooked on this. I would love it every time she would go to England or Australia and bring back the breakfast blend from Fortnum and Mason. A cup of tea with one of their shortbread cookies–heavenly.

So apparently, I am not the only one that REALLY loves tea. I searched for a “tea song” on You Tube and I came across one by the dutch dutchess that she wrote to enter a scholarship contest. I think this is the perfect song to sum up my tea obsession. The lyrics are below. If you want to see the hilarious song, you can click here:

The tea song, by the dutch dutchess (posted on You tube)

There is a very special drink that everybody drinks

in England, Indonesia, in Holland and in China.

And all these people drink it in their own and special way:

Black, white, green, oolong, it is all up to you to say!

Tea tea tea tea tea

Everybody loves tea tea tea tea tea

Because tea is tasty

It’s good for you and me!

Tea tea tea tea tea

Who doesn’t love a cup of tea?

Oh leave the tea to me

I feel good when I drink tea!

Tea has antioxidants

Which keep your health in shape

It also has some caffeine

So you can work ‘till really late

And did you know that tea

Is as well good for your teeth?

And it’s so nice to quench your thirst

Without gaining calories

Tea tea tea tea tea

Everybody loves tea tea tea tea tea

Because tea is tasty

It’s good for you and me!

Tea tea tea tea tea

Who doesn’t love a cup of tea?

Oh leave the tea to me

I feel good when I drink tea!

I feel good when I drink tea!

I love tea!

This entry was posted in being present, happiness, travels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My (ever so) slight obsession with tea

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin spiced oatmeal | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

