“Red Red Wine” Beef Stew

I have been wanting to make a beef stew all winter. And since it is already March, I figured I needed to make one sooner than later. I was actually inspired by my sister-in-law. The last time I was down visiting my brother, she had prepared a beef stew that was to die for. (Sidenote, I really need to remember to ask her for the recipe). I remember that she told me that she used red wine in her stew, so it had me wanting to make my own beef stew with red wine. I found a relatively easy recipe on epicurious.com simply called “Red Wine Beef Stew”.

Randomly, the song “Red Red Wine” has been in my head ever since. Anyone remember the group UB40 from the 90’s? For some reason, their version of “Red Red Wine” has been playing nonstop in my head… “Red Red Wine, stay close to me, Don’t let me be alone, its tearin’ apart, my blue blue heart”

Anyway, with that song in mind, I set out and acquired all of the ingredients to make the recipe. Because I am currently cooking for one(and I didn’t want to eat this for days), I halved the recipe to make only 4 servings. As with any stew, it’s better to cook it a day ahead of when you want to eat it so that way the flavors have time to really meld together.

“Red red wine you make me feel so fine
You keep me rocking all of the time
Red red wine you make me feel so grand…”

Here’s my result:

This picture doen’t do the stew enough justice. Because I didn’t have a dutch oven  when I made this ( I finally broke down and ordered one from amazon.com), I had to improvise and use two pots. I had one pot to do the braising of the meat on the stove and then I used another oven friendly casserole dish with a lid to cook the meat for the 2 hours. Instead of cooking the vegetables (I added frozen peas to my stew..about a cup) with the meat for an hour in the oven, I cooked it on the stove.  But the stew was so worth all the extra craziness! The red wine made the meat extremely tender and succulent. Get a great loaf of crusty artisan bread and cut a few slices to eat with the stew. Yummy Goodness!!!!! I have loved eating it as leftovers! I heard the stew freezes well too, so you could make a big batch and store it up for later.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 4 pounds chuck roast, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 2 cups dry red wine, such as Pinot Noir or Syrah
  • 4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 medium yellow onion, quartered
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 4 sprigs thyme
  • 10 medium carrots (about 2 pounds), peeled and cut into 3-inch pieces
  • 1 1/2 pounds baby white or red potatoes, halved
 

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 325°F.

Season the meat with salt and pepper, place in a large bowl, and toss with the flour.

Heat the oil in a large Dutch oven or wide-bottomed pot with a tight-fitting lid over medium-high heat. Cook the meat, in batches, until well browned on all sides, 6 to 8 minutes, transferring the pieces to a plate as they are browned. Pour off and discard any drippings from the pot.

Add the tomato paste, wine, broth, onion, bay leaves, thyme, and 2 of the carrots and bring to a boil. Return the meat and any juices back to the pot (the meat should be barely submerged in liquid), cover, and transfer to the oven. Cook for 2 hours.

Using tongs, remove and discard the cooked vegetables. Add the potatoes and the remaining 8 carrots to the pot, cover, and return to the oven. Cook until the meat and vegetables are fork-tender, about 1 hour more.

Cook’s Tip: Stew always tastes better the day after it is made. Let the stew cool to room temperature before refrigerating. Before reheating, skim any visible fat from the surface and cook, covered, over medium-low heat on the stovetop, stirring occasionally, until heated through. Freeze in an airtight container for up to 2 months.

You can also click here for recipe.

This entry was posted in being present, cooking, food, martha stewart eat your heart out and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

