The post about french toast

I am surprised I hadn’t written about french toast already. After all, it is my favorite food to eat for breakfast. Unfortunately, I don’t get to make it as much as I would like because time, bread, and relative health are always a factor. I say time because I don’t like to rush the french toast making process. In addition, I have learned over the years that the bread is highly important in the quality of the french toast as well. And the health piece should be obvious. It wouldn’t suit my body very well to eat a fried breakfast every morning, so my french toast craving is only given into on the occasional weekend.

French toast, like most foods, always bring back fond memories. The memory that stands out the most to me is being over my aunt’s house when I was no more than 13, and my cousin Jennifer making the french toast. I was cooking myself (a little) by that time, but I couldn’t get the french toast to come out like hers: slightly crispy, moist, but not soggy–the right mix of egg and milk.

It took me until I was in graduate school to learn how to make french toast properly. For me, it all boiled down to the bread. I started off making french toast by buying a loaf of bread that hadn’t been sliced and cutting thick slices. Over the years, I have moved up from french bread, to challah or artisan bread.  I love going to the local market down from my apartment and buying a fresh loaf of bread. If you have never made french toast with a freshly made loaf of bread, I highly recommend you do so!

My new favorite bread (of the moment) is by a local bakery called “Bread & Chocolate“. Their bread is so moist, flavorful, and crusty-the perfect bread to make french toast. Now that I don’t drink milk anymore, my french toast recipe has gotten a revamp. I kind of eyeball my recipe, but I will try to give an accurate description below:

Cosmo’s French toast (for 4-5 pieces)

1 organic egg

1 1/2- 2 cups of almond or other nondairy milk

2 teaspoons of cinnamon (I used a Ceylon cinnamon from Penzey’s spices)

1 teaspoon of nutmeg

1 tablespoon of canola oil

1 fresh loaf of bread, cut about 4 slices (of your preferred thickness)

Combine all ingredients, except the bread, and make sure to scramble well. You want the egg, cinnamon, and nutmeg to be fully incorporated in the milk.

Preheat a frying pan and then add the oil. Make sure the bottom of the pan is fully coated. Once the oil is warm, take the bread slices one by one and dip(on both sides) into the egg mixture. Place in the pan and cook on both sides until they are brown.

Serve and enjoy! I ended up baking some turkey bacon and ate that as a side. As always, this breakfast with a cup of tea, was yummy to my tummy!

This entry was posted in being present, cooking, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The post about french toast

  1. Denita Ireland says:

    i subsituted the nutmeg with vanilla extract! yum!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

