The 5 day cupcake challenge

For some reason, singletons like me get pity on Valentine’s day. The world pressures us and makes us feel like we need someone to be “complete or whole”. I bought that crap for a long time, but somewhere along the way, I realized that I was complete all by myself. That I had to depend on myself for happiness and seek God for that joy. 

So for this Valentine’s day season, I gave myself a 5 day cupcake challenge. During the work week, which for me runs Monday through Friday, I would get a cupcake to enjoy. Eating sweets and other things I enjoy brings me happiness. If you can’t tell by my blog already, I love food. So I figured, what better way to honor myself this weekend by eating cupcakes? Lol!

So, on Monday I headed to Katalina’s Bakery, which is literally a few steps from my office. I knew I was doing the right thing, a lovely sign in the shop persuaded me that I was.

Keep calm and eat a cupcake. Which was exactly my plan. Or maybe I would throw in the Snoopy happy dance? Who knows? After perusing through all of the options, I finally decided on a red velvet cupcake and carried it back to my office, where I proceeded to devour it.

So that is what I have done every day this week. I have been walking or running (depending on my time schedule) over to Katalina’s and getting a cupcake.

I know it isn’t something that I could do everyday for the rest of my life unless I planned to exercise like crazy as well, but it made me happy. I think it is very important for people to take the time to do nice things for themselves. The more self-love you have, the easier it is for you in turn to love someone else. So I will continue to do silly food challenges and try new things because it brings me joy. And at the end of the day, that should matter.  I think Buddha said it best ,”You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love & affection”.

Now let me end this post so I can finish my last cupcake. Yum!

p.s. What nice things to you like to do for yourself?

This entry was posted in being present and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The 5 day cupcake challenge

  1. Samar says:

    I like the poster! and well maybe the cupcake too.!

Leave a Reply

