Wednesday Waffles

I have been on a waffle kick thanks to a fellow blogger, Domestic Diva, M.D.  I read a blog entry by her last Friday where she discussed making waffles after waking up to a wet bed. Apparently, she had shared a bed with a bed wetter…lol. Not that I wanted to share the same experience she had, but I definitely was inspired to make waffles after seeing hers.

I decided to open up my old Betty Crocker cookbook and use her waffle recipe with some variations.  I altered it a little by adding oats and rice milk. I made a stack of waffles and ended up wrapping them in wax paper individually, sticking them in a freezer bag, and storing them in the freezer for future eating. 

They thaw out very well. I warmed up two this morning in the oven at 350 F for  5-10 minutes  (make sure the oven is preheated) and they tasted like I just made them. 

Here’s the recipe:

Prep 5 min; Bake: 15 min

2 large eggs

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 3/4 cups rice milk

1/2 cup canola oil

1 tablespoon brown sugar

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup oats

1. Heat waffle iron.

2. Beat eggs in large bowl with hand beater until fluffy. Beat in remaining ingredients  just until smooth.

3. Pour a scant 2/3 cup batter (or more, follow your iron’s instructions) from cup or pitcher onto center of hot waffle iron. Close lid of waffle iron.

4. Bake about 5 minutes or until steaming stops (this will depend on your iron’s instructions). Carefully remove waffle. Serve immediately. Repeat with remaining batter.

This recipe will make about 8-10 waffles. You can always freeze them like I suggested above and this will provide a quick breakfast when you are on the go.

***If you want to make waffles and don’t have a waffle maker, both Walmart and Tarjay have some pretty cheap waffle makers that are under $20. I got my my waffle maker during a sale and it was about $10.

 

 

This entry was posted in cooking, food, martha stewart eat your heart out and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

