Chocolate Pudding Pie? Oh, my!

Last Friday, I had one of my favorite sorority sisters over for our monthly girls night dinner. When ever I have people over my house for dinner, I spend a lot of time thinking about what I will prepare. Mexican? Italian? French? I ended up going with the latter and prepared a lovely chicken dish, which I will discuss in the next post. However, I wanted to share with you the dessert first because it is my favorite part of the dinner meal.

Because meal I prepared was French, I wanted a decadent dessert to follow. Immediately I thought of chocolate, lovely rich chocolate. I poured over recipes for chocolate souffle, flourless chocolate cake, chocolate tarts, etc. All of those desserts seemed lovely, but I didn’t have the time required to execute any of them during a weekday. I was about to lose hope of my chocolate dream, but my cooking light magazine saved me.  On an ad for their annual cooking light recipes book, they had a recipe for rich chocolate pudding pie. Even better, the pie had a little rum in it.  Quickly, I perused the recipe and realized that I could quickly make it Thursday night prior to the dinner.

I also cut corners by buying a premade Oreo pie crust. Although their crust recipe was relatively simple to make, forming a crust late at night when I had to get up for an early morning run the next day, did not sound appealing.

After I made the pie filling, I poured it into the crust and placed it into the refrigerator overnight to let it set. Here’s what it looked like prior to serving Friday night:

It definitely was a hit with both of us. The pie had a nice balance of richness and sweetness. Because of this, we didn’t feel guilty eating more than one slice. What can I say, Rum and chocolate definitely go together. I would highly recommend this pie for anyone that is looking for a quick and tasty way to impress your family or dinner guests. I am sure my sorority sister would agree:) Here is the recipe:

Rich Chocolate Pudding Pie

  • YIELD: 10 servings (serving size: 1 pie slice, about 1 tablespoon berries, and 1 tablespoon whipped topping)
  • HANDS-ON:20 Minutes
  • TOTAL:4 Hours, 45 Minutes
  • COURSE: Desserts, Pies/Pastries

Ingredients

  • CRUST:
  • 30 chocolate wafers
  • 3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • FILLING:
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 cups 1% low-fat milk, divided
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon white rum
  • 1/2 cup fresh raspberries
  • 10 tablespoon fat-free frozen whipped topping, thawed

Preparation

1. To prepare crust, place wafers in a food processor; process until finely ground. Add 3 ounces melted chocolate and oil; process until blended. Press into bottom and up sides of a 9-inch pie plate. Freeze 15 minutes or until set.

2. To prepare the filling, combine sugar, cornstarch, cocoa, and salt in a large saucepan; stir with a whisk. Add half of milk and 2 yolks; stir with a whisk until smooth. Stir in the remaining milk. Cook over medium heat for 5 minutes or until thick and bubbly, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Add 4 ounces chocolate, and stir until smooth. Stir in rum. Pour filling into prepared crust. Cover with plastic wrap; chill 4 hours or until set. Serve with raspberries and whipped topping.

This entry was posted in cooking, food, let them eat cake, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

