Detox, accomplished!

My 10 day detox finally ended at noon today and I was so happy! This is the longest that I have ever went without caffeine or sugar and I am really proud of myself. To me, that part was the hardest and was the only part of the detox that I strictly held to. I did slip up a few times in the detox. I wasn’t supposed to eat chicken (only fish), and I had some naan on Day 8, but other than that I am proud of myself.

I can not say that I feel drastically different. But that is because I eat pretty healthy on a regular basis anyway. Plus I exercise regularly. However, during the detox, I found that I wasn’t able to keep up with my fitness routine. My body got really tired and I had to take it easy. However, I am in walking distance from my job, so I get about 2 miles each day(total) just from walking to and from work.

But it was a great experience and I think I will do it again next year (in the summer) with some modifications. I think I will have it be an all raw food detox for 7 days, instead of 10, and engage in light exercise (walking, etc).

I have noticed that my taste buds are more sensitive to the quality of sweets now. I had a Hershey’s kiss this afternoon and I realized for the first time that it doesn’t really taste like chocolate. It tastes very artificial to me now. So I don’t think I will be eating them ever again. I have decided to try to be more selective about the sweets I eat. What I mean is if I am going to indulge in something sugary, it has to be something that is less processed  and more natural. No more cheap pieces of candy or chocolate. I think I will be sticking with Dark Chocolate or carob chips for now on.

Here’s what I ate for the remaining days of my detox:

Day 8:

Breakfast: Fruit salad with pineapple, apple, and chinese broccoli

Lunch: a large salad with tomatoes, yellow pepper, and cucumber

Dinner: Indian Food ( I had a shrimp dish and some naan–I was at a holiday party so I gave in to temptation)

Day 9

Breakfast: Fruit Salad (same as above)

Lunch: Carrots with hummus and whole wheat crackers

Dinner: Leftover indian shrimp dish with quinoa as the side, no bread:(

Day 10

Breakfast: Fruit salad (same as day 9)

Lunch: (First meal after fast ended): sushi, miso soup, and seaweed salad.

Overall, I am happy with my results as I stated in my last post, I lost some weight and feel lighter. Now I am ready to go into the season of holiday parties and Christmas festivities in moderation.

To read about the detox, days 1-3 click here

To read about the detox, days 4-7, click here

Happy Holidays and Happy Detoxing:)

This entry was posted in detox, health, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Detox, accomplished!

  1. Congratulations! You almost motivated me until talked about Hershey Kisses because I love me some Hershey’s chocolate and if the detox change that we will have an issue lol. Keep up the great work

    • brandnewphd says:

      Thanks Ruby! The Hershey’s thing may not affect you. It just seems like my tastesbuds are more heightened now:) You should try to detox for one day and see how you like it if you have never done it before. I will usually eat raw for one day if I feel like I am coming down with a cold. That seems to really help.

  2. shantara says:

    Ah, I just started going through the same thing. No temporary detox for me though, only to get back into bad eating habits, this is forever! Raw! I had to kick the caffein before I could start because that was always my downfall and causes the worst detox symptoms. Congradulations on making it ten days!

  3. Congrats on your detox!

Leave a Reply

