Tis the season to detox… Days 1-3

As I am sure you are fully aware, facebook is the place to go when you want to find out what cool things your friends are up to. Recently, I had observed that one of my sorority sisters, Chanel, was engaging in a 10 day detox. I was immediately intrigued.  I knew I wanted to do a detox before 2011 was over and so seeing her post felt like a sign from above. After reading about her detox (click here), I thought, “I could do this!” So I planned to start it after the Thanksgiving holiday. I feel this is a perfect time to do a detox because it is right after a season of eating and right before all of those work parties and Christmas events coming up.

The detox is basically a raw food cleanse, that allows you to have one cooked meal a day. You can eat all of the fruit and veggies you can handle, but you must give up all processed foods, caffeine, and sugar.  Water intake should be increased as well. In addition to food modifications, you are supposed to workout on “odd” days (for at least 45 minutes) and focus on your spirtual self on “even days”( depending on your beliefs, that could mean Bible study, inspirational reading, positive affirmations, meditation,etc).  I am basically following her detox, with some modifications. However, if you eat a meat heavy diet (meaning you eat meat everyday), you may find it helpful to follow her detox exactly:

Day 1:

Breakfast: A banana, a protein bar(with no sugar), and a cup of herbal tea

Midmorning snack: an  organic apple

Lunch: (My warm meal taken around 2pm, since I was working out) Scallops, sauteed green beans, and quinoa

After work: I worked out for about 1 hour and 1/2. 30 minutes on the treadmill, 15 minutes on the elliptical, and the rest of the time lifting weights

Dinner: I wasn’t really hungry, so I had about a cup of pineapples.

**** I started feeling caffeine withdrawal

Day 2

****drinking lots of water throughout the day

*****extreme caffeine withdrawal and a pounding headache.

Breakfast: A Banana and a cup of herbal tea

Mid Morning snack: pineapples and roasted sunflower seeds

Lunch: A big salad with peppers, cucumbers, avocado, mushrooms, zucchini and tomatoes topped with a champagne viniagrette.

Mid afternoon snack: carrots and hummus

***took a nap after taking some tylenol for caffeine headache

Dinner: Roasted organic chicken with sauteed kale and roasted sweet potatoes

Read the Bible and some devotionals.

Day 3 (in progress)

***Caffeine heachache finally gone!

***Lots of water(throughout the day)

Breakfast: A banana and some pineapple

Mid morning snack: Apple and sunflower seeds

Lunch: leftover chicken (from above)

Dinner: Most likely will be a salad or some pinapple after I workout like I did on Monday.

So that’s my progress thus far. I’ll update you again once I get to Day 7. Wish me luck! How about you? Are you detoxing?

This entry was posted in detox, food, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tis the season to detox… Days 1-3

  1. 2jsvow says:

    great, thanks for the deets! i think my only issue with this is time. it’s virtually impossible to do the raw/fresh thing on a limited time budget. i will say, though, that when we were doing this earlier this year, we felt amazing! i may try to get us back on the boat once things slow down again.

  2. Pingback: Detox, accomplished! | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

  3. Kudos to you! I don’t think I could do a detox for even one day

Leave a Reply

