What the “Pho”?

Or maybe a better (and more sane) title would be: Beef and Broccoli Pho (Soup)

I must warn you…this is a recipe of my own design, hijacked and manipulated (inspired) from my “Vegan on the Cheap” cookbook. It is quite ironic that a vegan cookbook would inspire me to make a meaty soup but I am going with it.  In the book (page 70), the author Robin describes a recipe for an Asian Noodle Soup. For some reason, beef popped in my head while I was glancing at the ingredients( I know sacrilegious right? Well, I have only said I was flirting with veganism…lol). And usually I don’t have a craving for beef, so I figured I would indulge myself this once.

I had intended on keeping the recipe the same and just using beef in place of the seitan, but the wheels in my head just kept pumping out new ideas: What about beef broth instead of vegetable broth? What about broccoli instead of bean spouts? What about mung bean strands instead of linguine?

So this is what I ended up with:

 I am still in the process of tweaking the ingredients, but the version I made last night was excellent.  I made the soup in single servings because (to me) asian soups do not do as well as leftovers. Plus the mung bean strands would get too mushy if you didn’t eat them right away. Enjoy!

Beef and Broccoli Pho (serves 1)

2 oz of mung bean strands (follow the instructions on the bag on how to prepare it for consumption)

1/2 tablespoon canola oil

1 cup of water

1 cup of beef broth

2 garlic cloves minced

2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger

1 tablespoon hoisin sauce

2 teaspoons soy sauce

1 wedge of lime

1 teaspoon sriracha chili sauce

1 tablespoon of chopped green onions

 a fist sized portion of organic steak (I sliced this up, salted and peppered it and then broiled it until it was medium)

1/2 cup of broccoli

1. In a small pot, saute the garlic and ginger for about 30 seconds.

2. Stir in the hosin sauce and the soy sauce and after its well mixed, add the beef broth and the cup of water. Bring to a boil

3. Stir in the sliced and broiled steak, bean strands, lime juice (from the wedge),broccoli, and sriracha, and simmer for about 10 minutes.

4. Pour soup into a bowl and garnish with the green onions. If you want the soup hotter, add more sriracha.  Eat immediately.

 

 

This entry was posted in cooking, food, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

