An early afternoon quickie: “Eat your greens” smoothie

I hope your week has started off great! Mine has slowly, but surely. I am still slightly recuperating from my visit to see my brother and fam. Fun times! Expect posts about the fun in the upcoming days! But first I wanted quickly share the “Eat your greens” smoothie I made this morning:

Yum! This smoothie comes from the “Eat to Live” book by Joel Fuhrman, M.D. I definitely suggest you pick up a copy if you haven’t read it yet. The premise of the book is that we need to eat less processed foods and more veggies and fruit (whole grains should be eaten sparingly). It can be hard, because I know I love some good junk food:) (Froyo anyone?….lol)

Anyway, since I feel like I am coming down with a cold(hopefully only allergies), I would try to heal myself the natural way (by eating healing foods) Hence, the morning “Eat your greens smoothie”.  The lovely thing is that it is vegan:) Here is my variation of the recipe (If you have the book, it’s on page 252):

2 cups of baby spinach

1 banana

1 cup mixed frozen fruit (my mix had strawberries, peaches, and mango)

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup water

1 tablespoon flax seeds

1 tablespoon chia seeds

Blend all the ingredients in a blender until smooth and creamy. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in detox, food, smoothies, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

