Catching up with Enchiladas

It has definitely been awhile since I have blogged. My life has been a little crazy lately. Between traveling for work, Pilates & running, side hustling, and cooking, it has been hard to find the motivation to type. But I thought I would just share some of the things/meals I have been doing/making:

Recently, I headed down to Howard University and George Washington University for a celebration of Edward A. Bouchet’s birthday. If you are not aware of who Bouchet is, he was the first African-American to receive a Ph.D. and he did so at Yale University. Every year both Yale and Howard (through the Bouchet Graduate Honor Society), celebrate the legacy of Bouchet on his birthday and during a conference held in the spring. Commonly, the birthday celebration takes place at Howard and the conference is at Yale. 

Overall, I thought the event was well done and before we left D.C., we headed over to the new MLK exhibit. I found it very inspiring. I definitely recommend that you go and see it if you are ever in D.C.!

As I stated above, I have also continued with my running and have now added in some pilates for strength training. If you ever want to know how out of shape you are, I recommend you try a class. Every Monday and Wednesday, I am shown this over and over again. I can only hope that at some point I won’t feel like I am having my butt handed to me. In addition, running is coming along slowly, but surely. I have challenged myself to keep running with the goal of completing a 10K early next year. So wish me luck!

Of course I have been cooking! Many of the things have been very routine, (like french toast and stir fry’s) so if you’re interested in those recipes, let me know. But last night I made these black bean and cheese enchiladas from a recipe in my cooking light magazine and I was blown away! Very tasty!!!!!

They don’t look as pretty as they do in the magazine because I was in a rush and I didn’t warm the corn tortillas properly so they teared a little, but the meal was good! One warning though. I couldn’t find the dried ancho chiles that they discussed in the recipe, so I substituted with one dried Habanero pepper. I didn’t realize how hot the peppers were. I accidentally inhaled some of the steam from the pepper when I placed it in the boiling water (see the recipe below) and I started choking! Needless to say, I did not use the pepper and I only used one 1/2 cup of the water that the pepper boiled in and combined it with 1/2 cup of fresh water. If you use the ancho peppers like the recipe says, you should be fine.

Here you go:

Ingredients

  • 2 dried ancho chiles, stemmed and seeded
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 5 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 cups organic vegetable broth
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh oregano
  • 2 tablespoons no-salt-added tomato paste
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1 (15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) preshredded reduced-fat 4-cheese Mexican-blend cheese, divided
  • 3 thinly sliced green onions, divided
  • Cooking spray
  • 12 (6-inch) corn tortillas
  • 6 tablespoons light sour cream

Preparation

  • 1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  • 2. Combine chiles and 2 cups water in a saucepan; bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat; let stand 5 minutes. Drain chiles in a colander over a bowl, reserving 1 cup cooking liquid.
  • 3. Heat oil in a medium saucepan over high heat. Add onion; saute 1 minute. Reduce heat to medium; add garlic and salt. Cook 5 minutes or until golden, stirring occasionally. Add broth and next 3 ingredients (through cumin); cook 8 minutes or until thickened, stirring occasionally.
  • 4. Pour onion mixture into a blender; add chiles and reserved liquid. Remove center piece of blender lid (to allow steam to escape); secure lid on blender. Place a clean towel over opening in lid. Blend until smooth; stir in lime juice and red pepper.
  • 5. Combine the beans, 1 cup cheese, and half the green onions in a bowl. Spread 1/2 cup sauce in the bottom of a 13 x 9-inch glass or ceramic baking dish coated with cooking spray. Warm tortillas according to package directions. Spoon 3 tablespoons bean mixture down center of each tortilla; roll up. Place, seam-side down, in prepared dish. Pour remaining sauce over filled tortillas. Top with the remaining cheese. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Sprinkle with remaining green onions; serve with sour cream.

David Bonom, Cooking Light
OCTOBER 2011

This entry was posted in being present, do it yourself, food, recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Catching up with Enchiladas

  1. I know what you mean about the hectic like – I’m working for 12 hours tomorrow. I don’t like that it gets in the way of blogging – the thing I love doing the most 🙂

  2. brandnewphd says:

    Wow! Hopefully you will get a chance to rest this weekend! What is your blog called?

  3. Pingback: Fall food kick off: butternut squash risotto | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

  4. Nieja J. says:

    I’m enjoying your blog! I saved this recipe…now I just have to find the time to prepare it.
    Thanks

  5. brandnewphd says:

    Thanks Nieja! I hope you can find the time:) I was definitely worth it:)

Leave a Reply

