Who runs the 5K? Cosmo!

Last year, not so much. I called myself running the 2010 Labor day 5K with very little training. As a result, I couldn’t run the whole thing, got sick, and was sore for a week. Picture the phrase “stick stuck up her butt” and that was me. After recuperating, I resolved that in 2011, I would try the 5K again and vowed to run/jog the whole thing without walking or stopping.

Initially, I was extremely discouraged. I could barely run 1 minute outdoors without my legs hurting or feeling like my lungs were going to burst out of my chest. However, I still proceeded on. I went to  Sound runner, a running store in Branford and picked up some proper running shoes. I started off with the “Couch to 5K plan”

I highly recommend that for anyone who is looking to train for a 5K. Don’t be afraid to repeat weeks in the program if you are not comfortable at that particular week’s running/walking schedule. I had to repeat several weeks initially. However, over time I began to notice progress. As the weeks progressed, I was able to run longer and longer without stopping.

Since I began training in winter, I was running outside initially and then had to switch indoors and use a treadmill. I stopped using the “couch to 5K” program when I was able to run a mile without stopping. I did this because I felt that I would be a better gauge of how far to push myself in the upcoming weeks.

Soon spring came, and I had my feelings hurt when I ran outside again. You see, running on the pavement outside is nothing compared to that on the treadmill. If you do use a treadmill, don’t make the mistake I did and not set the machine at an incline of at least 1 and with a speed of at least 4.5 to 5. I didn’t realize that you are actually running downhill when there is no incline on the treadmill. In addition, you need to run faster on a treadmill because the conveyor belt is helping you move along.

I soon switched from the treadmill to an indoor track and a month before the 2011 labor day 5K, I was running every other day, slowly pushing myself everyday. Two weeks before the race, I made it up to 3 miles on the track. I should have felt confident in my abilities at the time, but still I wasn’t. Because as I stated, nothing is like the pavement. Not even a track. In fact, I had run the Friday before the race and was only able to run one mile and a half.

The night before the race, I got my 5K play list ready:

1. Dancing Queen- ABBA

2. Get Right- JLo

3. Quiet storm- mobb deep (I think that’s the name of the song..lol)

4. Don’t stop the music-Rihanna

5. Gimme More- Britney Spears

6. U don’t have to call- Usher

7. Scandalous-Mis Teeq

8. Sock it to Me–Missy Elliot

9 Imma Be-Black eyed peas

10. Telephone- Lady Gaga

11.  Whip my hair- Willow

12. Stronger- Kanye West

13. I’m Doin’ me–Fantasia

14. We Run This–Missy Elliot

15. I’ll Be–JayZ and Foxy Brown

16. Get me bodied—Beyonce

17. Through the wire- Kanye West

18. Alright- Janet Jackson

19. I get around- 2pac

20. Get by- Talib Kweli

21.Tik Tok- Kesha

22. Flashing lights–Kanye West

I also prepared penne with a saffron sauce and pancetta. I originally talked about this dish in my “Cosmo does Tuscan” post. This time I used the pancetta and it came out lovely!

I had read that it is important to eat pasta the night before a big run to provide energy for your body. So prepare and eat I did.

I had a hard time sleeping Sunday night. I doubted myself and I was worried that I wouldn’t finish the race without walking. What if I let myself down? I eventually went to sleep but ended up reminding myself that I trained and I could do this. Walking wasn’t an option.

So this morning, I woke up and read a little of Philippians 3rd chapter. Specifically the 12th-14th verse, which states:

“Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining  toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

I take these verses to mean that I have to let all fears and doubts that I have and let them go. To strive to become the person I am called to be and achieve the things that God has for me. So I shook off my fears, got dressed and resolved to run this race.

I know you can’t see it really, I but I have a running skirt on. They are the best things since sliced bread. Seriously. Running in a running skirt makes you feel so feminine and confident! Plus you don’t have to worry about them riding up like shorts sometimes do. If you are thinking about running, I highly recommend you try one 🙂

Anywho, I digress. My sistah friends/ sorority sisters K and N met me at my house and then we headed to the race. Of course we had to pose for a pic first.

By the time we made it to the New Haven Green, we had about 15 minutes until the race was going to start. I did some stretches and chatted with some other folks that we knew and before I knew it, it was time for the race to begin. I felt the fear rise up, but then I put my iPod on and was enveloped with ABBA’s “Dancing Queen” as I started my run. About a mile in, I felt my legs getting slightly sore, but I pushed forward. By mile 2, I had to talk to myself  and tell myself to keep going. That internal discussion went on until I was a little in mile 3, and then the Black eyed peas “Imma be” came on. That song gave me the pep to finish the race with a smile. I felt such a high finishing that race! I definitely wasn’t the fastest, but I finished it. Without walking! I had planned to give up running after this race, but my soror N challenged me to run a 10K next year. So continue to train I will. I am so so proud of myself and feel like I can accomplish anything that I put my mind to. I challenge you reader, to challenge yourself. Push yourself to do something that you can’t believe you can do. Earlier this year, I couldn’t run 1 minute without being out of breath. But today, I ran over 3 miles and was fine. It only takes one step to start. Try yourself. You may find that you are pleasantly surprised at your abilities.

xo,

Cosmo

This entry was posted in dedication, do it yourself, exercise, faith, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Who runs the 5K? Cosmo!

  1. A+ says:

    I really wanna do a 5k. Thanks for sharing this and I am so proud of you…I am gonna check out the literature and see if I can do 1 in a year or 2… smiles, a+

  2. E.Davis says:

    YAY! congrats lady!! Proud of you!

  3. CONGRATULATIONS! What an inspirational story, go Shanta! Thanks for sharing and I will start my journey today to fitness and you motivated me to start with one step. You Are Priceless!

  4. Pingback: Couch potato.Walk.Run: the evolution of healthy me | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

