Fired up! A birthday experience

So as I indicated in my blog post “My big fat 31st birthday“, I would talk a little more about my second experience pottery painting. The first time I pottery painted was on a whim while I was living in North Carolina. I ended up painting a mug and chatting with the owners. I found it very relaxing and fun, so I decided that I wanted to do it now that I live in CT.

It took me a while to find a pottery spot close to me. One day while walking on main st in Branford, I found one. The place is called “Fired” up. The shop is very quaint and has a lot of pottery pieces to choose from.

After looking through the pottery for a few minutes, I found a cute little sugar bowl with a top that I thought would be fun to paint.

I feel that pottery painting (or any type of painting) is so relaxing. It gives me a chance to not focus on any worries or cares and utilize the creative side of my brain. I am by no means an artist, but it was fun to paint my version of pink cherry blossoms trees all over the bowl. It didn’t look like much after I finished painting:

However, they took it, “fired it up” and glazed it. This past Saturday I picked it up and I was pleasantly surprised at how good it came out.

I definitely enjoyed this experience and of course I will do this again:)

Have you ever pottery painted? If so, what did you paint? If not, will you try it?

This entry was posted in being present, decorating, do it yourself, empowerment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fired up! A birthday experience

  1. Yes and I had a blast. I took my nieces several years back and I must go back. I painted a heart dish for my keys and niece Maya painted a dolphin and Bria picked a woman to paint and they all were beautiful. The experience was Priceless. By the way I love your sugar bowl it is so pretty.

  2. brandnewphd says:

    Thanks Ruby! It sounds like you had fun with your nieces:)

Leave a Reply

