Cosmo’s 48 hours before Irene

The whole east coast has been preparing this week for Hurricane Irene. I’ll admit, I didn’t start preparing until yesterday, because I was so wrapped in going to see my nephew. But as Thursday approached, I realized that Irene was going to be very serious, so I canceled my trip and began to really pay attention to the news. The news can be quite scary. You would think the world would end. Every news reporter was talking about how we need to have enough food and water to last for several days to a week and to prepare for the worst.

So on Friday, I resolved to collect water, peanut butter and other nonperishables to get me through the storm. But before that, I had dinner with L, one of my mentors. We met up at Bentara, which is this great Malaysian restaurant in downtown New Haven. We ordered spring rolls and roti. For my main dish, I had the Mee Goreng with shrimp. Yum! After we both finished our dinner,we shared a chocolate torte filled with chocolate and topped with ice cream and whipped cream:

Later that night, my line sister A and I went to super walmart to try to gather up some supplies. We thought that by going around 11pm, we would avoid the crowds, but we were naive, I guess. It was packed in there. I needed D batteries and there was none to be found. Bread was non-existent as well. Thank God I picked up some at the farmer’s market earlier. While we were searching for peanut butter and other things, we heard a loud shout and scuffling. We thought there was a fight or argument happening, so of course we go to check it out. The noise was caused by people grabbing after water that walmart put out at that moment. To me the funniest thing of the night was watching people descend on the water like vultures to an animal carcass. Of course I grabbed a case…lol

This morning, I got up and headed to the grocery store at 6am. I needed to grab some fruit as well as get the ingredients for tonight’s dinner. For some reason, I had a craving for tilapia and I was inspired to make a mango salsa to go on top of it. The tilapia was simple, I just pan seared it in olive oil with a little salt and pepper and placed it on a bed of fresh spinach. The mango salsa required a little more effort:

Here’s the recipe:

Mango Salsa

Recipe courtesy Ellie Krieger

Prep Time:
5 min
Level:
Easy
Serves:
4 to 6 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 mango, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup peeled, diced cucumber
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped jalapeno
  • 1/3 cup diced red onion
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1/3 cup roughly chopped cilantro leaves
  • Salt and pepper

Directions

Combine the mango, cucumber, jalapeno, red onion, lime juice and cilantro leaves and mix well. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

It was a simple yet tasty and quick meal to prepare. I definitely will be making this again!

Now I’m bracing for the storm! East coasters (NC and above) How did you prepare for the Hurricane?

This entry was posted in being present, cooking, do it yourself, empowerment, food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

