“Breakfast at Tiffany’s” inspired work attire

My sense of style has developed quite a bit over these past 30 years. If you would have met me earlier on in life, you would have wondered what I was thinking. Try imagining oversized, baggy clothing on a stick frame. Try to also imagine that same stick frame dressing in guy’s clothing because she felt that there were no clothes that could fit her tall 5 ‘9 1/2 frame.  I was a mess when I entered college, but luckily two friends A and A, took me under their wing and showed me how to dress properly. From that moment, my fashion sense has grown very strongly and I am usually asked for my opinion on what looks good, etc.

Throughout graduate school, my style got suppressed because there was really no point in dressing up to go to lab. I mean, who really wants to spill chemicals or get animal feces on their clothing? I know I didn’t. So I reverted back to my early college days–baggy pants, sweatshirts. Sometimes I would even wear slippers in the lab (don’t tell anyone).

However, since I have finally got a “real job with benefits”, I have to dress in business casual everyday. This has given me the chance to play with style as well as even dress in character. Yes, I did say dress in character. What I mean is that I will dress (professionally) in a way that is inspired by a character from a movie or show. For me, there is nothing like putting on a great outfit to give you that “pep in your step” or confidence to start a new day. As the youngest professional in my office, I feel that I have to be even more mindful of the image that I project.  Lately, I have been stuck on 1960’s fashion. I love the simple geometric dresses, cute little hats, skinny jeans, and pencil pants of that decade.  Indeed, what is more classic than Holly Golightly from Breakfast at Tiffany’s?

The opening scene of Breakfast at Tiffany’s is classic. The black dress, the pearls, sunglasses, and french twist, Haute! This morning, I was trying to think how I could dress like this for work and then I remembered the pink sheath I had in my closet. I paired that with pearls and twisted my hair in a pseudo french updo. I finished off the outfit with some black peep toe wedges. I must say that I am feeling very “Holly” today.

In addition to “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” fashion, I am also in love with the early 60’s fashion of the AMC show “Mad Men”. I was so excited to find out that one of my favorite stores, Banana Republic was going to sell a limited line of clothes designed by the costume designer of the show,  Janie Bryant.  Check out some of my favorite pieces from the collection will be available in stores tomorrow:

If you “like” Banana Republic on Facebook, you can check out and even purchase the clothing and accessories today. As you might imagine, I have already placed my order!

So what decade inspires your fashion?

This entry was posted in fashion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” inspired work attire

  1. tracy says:

    number, love the outfit!

Leave a Reply

