Herbed Shrimp and White Bean Salad

I am usually quite decisive when it comes to food, especially when cooking during the weekend. However this weekend, I wasn’t too sure. Being the type A person that I am, I like to have everything planned out and organized way in advance. So obviously the fact that I hadn’t decided on my Sunday meal slightly bugged me. However, while I was at Lena’s for brunch yesterday, I had the opportunity to look through my cooking light magazine and came across a recipe for a Herbed Shrimp and White Bean Salad. It looked deelish! I thought it would be the perfect meal for a hot and humid day:

Because I was hungry while making this salad, I deviated some from the original recipe. However, I still was very pleased at how it turned out.

Herbed Shrimp and White Bean Salad

Shrimp are the star of this main course salad that is full of colorful veggies and topped with a lemon juice vinaigrette.

  • YIELD: 4 servings (serving size: 2 cups)
  • COOK TIME:30 MINUTES
  • COURSE: Main Dishes, Salads

Ingredients

  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 4 cups arugula, loosely packed
  • 1/2 cup thinly vertically sliced red onion
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh chives
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil (I omitted because I forgot to buy it…lol)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley (I omitted because I didn’t want to buy it…lol)
  • 1 (15-ounce) can cannellini beans or other white beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon rind
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 garlic clove, minced (I used three cloves because I love garlic. Great immunity properties)
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (forgot this step)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, divided
  • Cooking spray
  • 1 pound peeled and deveined large shrimp (I got precooked and cleaned frozen jumbo shrimp)
  • 2 tablespoons pine nuts, toasted (Forgot to pick these up at the store)

Preparation

1. Preheat broiler to high.  (I skipped this step because I was so hungry and didn’t want to wait for pepper to cook. I cut the pepper up in bite size pieces and then combined it with  the chopped onion, chives,grated lemon rind, cannellini beans and lemon juice and let it sit)

2. Halve bell pepper lengthwise; discard seeds and membranes. Place halves, skin sides up, on a baking sheet. Broil 12 minutes or until blackened. Seal in a paper bag. Let stand 5 minutes. Peel; chop. Combine bell pepper and next 6 ingredients (through beans). Combine rind, juice, garlic, oil, 1/8 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper.

3. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat (I added  some canola oil, the minced garlic and some lemon juice to the pan). Coat pan with cooking spray. Sprinkle shrimp with remaining salt and pepper.  Cook 2 minutes on each side or until done (I cooked them until they were thawed and warm). Add shrimp, lemon mixture, and nuts to arugula mixture; toss.

I then added the cooked lemon juice, shrimp, and garlic to the red pepper mix and stirred. Following that, I took out the amount of arugula I wanted and added it to a separate bowl and then added some of the shrimp and pepper mix and tossed.

It was yummy! I definitely will make this again!

Nutritional Information

  • Amount per serving
  • Calories: 326
  • Fat: 15.7g
  • Saturated fat: 2.1g
  • Monounsaturated fat: 9.2g
  • Polyunsaturated fat: 3.3g
  • Protein: 28.9g
  • Carbohydrate: 17.4g
  • Fiber: 4.8g
  • Cholesterol: 172mg
  • Iron: 4.5mg
  • Sodium: 494mg
  • Calcium: 136mg

Cooking Light AUGUST 2011

This entry was posted in being present, cooking, food, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

