Vegan Brownies…….good for Cosmo’s tummy

If you read my last post you will know that I had went over my friend Kyle’s house for a Thanksgiving-like dinner. Being a good guest, I figured that I would make something healthier, yet delicious for dessert. After searching the web for a bit, I finally decided on vegan brownies.  I ended up taking two recipes that I liked from two different blogs and combining the parts I liked the best to make them. Here was the result:

My recipe is a blending of a post found at vegan baking and one at Vspot. Here it goes:

3 Tablespoons water
2 Tablespoons golden flax meal

1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
¼ teaspoon baking soda

7 Tablespoons cocoa powder
1 ounce semi-sweet chocolate, chopped into ½ inch pieces
1 teaspoon instant espresso powder I couldn’t find this, so I used a single serve packet of instant coffee.
¾ teaspoon salt

¼ cup boiling water

1 ½ cups sugar I used 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup maple syrup
6 Tablespoons margarine, melted (not tub margarine)
1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract

½ cup walnuts, chopped (optional) I forgot I had some, so I didn’t add.

1)In a small mixing bowl whisk together the water and flax meal. Let it sit for about 10 minutes so the mixture gets gooey. Place your oven rack on its lowest position and preheat your oven to 350F. Line an 8 x 8 inch baking dish with parchment paper allowing excess parchment paper on opposite sides so you can pull the brownies out of the baking dish later.
2)In a medium mixing bowl whisk together the all-purpose flour and baking soda. Set aside.

3)In another medium mixing bowl add the cocoa powder, semi-sweet chocolate, espresso powder and salt. Add the boiling water and using a spoon, mix in the ingredients into a paste, making sure that all of the chocolate pieces are melted. Add the sugar, margarine, vanilla extract, flax meal mixture from Step 1 and mix with an electric mixer until smooth. Stir in the walnuts if you’re using them. Using a spoon, mix in the flour until well combined. The mixture will become extremely thick and you may need to use your hands to mix. Refrain from mixing this dough with an electric mixer at this point; this will overwork the dough and activate too much gluten, negatively affecting the texture of the brownies.

4)Transfer the batter to the baking dish. You may need to use your fingers or a spatula to press the thick dough into place. Bake for 35 minutes on your oven’s lowest rack. Transfer the baking dish to a wire cooling rack and allow it to cool for about an hour.

5)Transfer the brownies to the wire rack by lifting them out of the baking dish by taking hold of the exposed parchment paper on each side. Allow them to cool completely before slicing into squares.

This entry was posted in cooking, food, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegan Brownies…….good for Cosmo’s tummy

  1. Amy says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog, I love that brownie recipe!! Yum! Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

